1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

dvd decrypter

Discussion in 'DVD Shrink forum' started by jpreyes, Oct 8, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jpreyes

    jpreyes Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i keep getting a power calibration area error i dont know what that means does it mean my burner is out?
     
  2. AfterDawn

    AfterDawn Advertisement

  3. binkie7

    binkie7 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    18,492
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    May or may not mean that.
    Let's start with the easier stuff 1st.
    What the make and model of the burner? Firmware up to date?
    What media are you using like Sony +R 16x. Burn speed you have decrypter set at?
     
  4. jpreyes

    jpreyes Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i dont know what make and model i just got this computer like 6 months ago i use dvd decryptor and i didnt even know you could change the burn speed but i have been using it for a while and had no problems but now this so can u in detail explain how to change the write speed please
     
  5. binkie7

    binkie7 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    18,492
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Ok here's a pic of where to set the burn speed and where to find the make and model of the burner:

    [​IMG]

    Try taking the burn speed down to half the rated speed of the media - like burn at 8x if 16x media.
    Before you start your next burn when you have decrypter press 'L' on the keyboard. This will create a log that you can post here be copying & pasting.
     
  6. jpreyes

    jpreyes Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i did take it down to 8x still same thing

    I 22:03:24 DVD Decrypter Version 3.5.4.0 started!
    I 22:03:24 Microsoft Windows Code Name "Longhorn" Home Edition (6.0, Build 6000)
    I 22:03:24 Initialising SPTI...
    I 22:03:24 Searching for SCSI / ATAPI devices...
    I 22:03:24 Found 1 DVD-RAM/±RW!
    I 22:04:24 Operation Started!
    I 22:04:24 Source File: C:\my movies\ROTSS_16X9_US.ISO
    I 22:04:24 Source File Sectors: 2,138,355 (MODE1/2048)
    I 22:04:24 Source File Size: 4,379,351,040 bytes
    I 22:04:24 Source File Implementation Identifier: DVD Shrink
    I 22:04:24 Destination Device: [1:0:0] TSSTcorp CD/DVDW TS-H652M 0414 (E:) (ATA)
    I 22:04:24 Destination Media Type: DVD+R (Disc ID: RICOHJPN-R03-04) (Speeds: 4x, 8x, 12x, 16x)
    I 22:04:24 Destination Media Sectors: 2,295,104
    I 22:04:24 Write Mode: DVD
    I 22:04:24 Write Type: SAO
    I 22:04:24 Write Speed: 8x
    I 22:04:24 Link Size: Auto
    I 22:04:24 Test Mode: No
    I 22:04:24 BURN-Proof: Enabled
    I 22:04:24 Filling Buffer...
    I 22:04:24 Writing LeadIn...
    W 22:04:34 Failed to Write Sectors 0 - 31 - Power Calibration Area Is Full
    W 22:04:34 Retrying (1 of 5)...
    W 22:04:36 Retry Failed - Power Calibration Area Is Full
    W 22:04:36 Retrying (2 of 5)...
    W 22:04:38 Retry Failed - Power Calibration Area Is Full
    W 22:04:38 Retrying (3 of 5)...
    W 22:04:40 Retry Failed - Power Calibration Area Is Full
    W 22:04:40 Retrying (4 of 5)...
    W 22:04:42 Retry Failed - Power Calibration Area Is Full
    W 22:04:42 Retrying (5 of 5)...
    W 22:04:44 Retry Failed! - Power Calibration Area Is Full
    E 22:04:46 Failed to Write Sectors 0 - 31 - Power Calibration Area Is Full
    I 22:04:46 Synchronising Cache...
    I 22:04:46 Closing Track...
    I 22:04:46 Finalising Disc...
    E 22:04:46 Failed to Write Image!
    E 22:04:46 Operation Failed! - Duration: 00:00:21
    I 22:04:46 Average Write Rate: N/A - Maximum Write Rate: N/A
     
  7. binkie7

    binkie7 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    18,492
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Ok some causes for power calibration:
    Firmware needs updated. i can't find an update for this drive. Did it come w/ the pc? If it did check the manufacturers site to see if there is an update.

    Media - May not be compatible w/ your drive. Switch the media - try Taiyo Yuden, Verbatim or made in Japan Sony, Fuji or Maxell.

    Dusty lens - clean the lens of the drive w/ a dvd lens cleaner or blow some canned air in the drive.

    Poor power - try the drive in another pc - try the 1st 3 1st.
     
  8. jpreyes

    jpreyes Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    im so new at this i really dont know what kind of drive it is but i have not added anything to this computer so i guess its the one that came with it and also how do i try it with another pc and where would i look for firmware updates sorry i dont know much
     
  9. jpreyes

    jpreyes Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    It's normal to execute %TEMP% and then delete all the files.

    i got this info from another site what does that mean? do you know?
     
  10. binkie7

    binkie7 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    18,492
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Do you have a link? I'm not really sure what it's in reference to.

    Who's the manufacturer of the pc? They might be the ones supporting the firmware on this drive - but there may not be any updates.

    Definitely try other media (see post above) it may just be as simple as the media.
     
  11. jpreyes

    jpreyes Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    you where right i finnaly went and got another media i just dont understand i have used that same media forever i just dont see why it stoped working but thank u
     
  12. binkie7

    binkie7 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    18,492
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Glad that did the trick.
    Brand name media uses different manufacturers so you can get a different one with a new spindle. May be the case here. The ones you were using were made by Ricoh not made but looks like not compatible w/ your drive.
     
  13. bigwill68

    bigwill68 Guest

    @jpreyes

    Sounds like you got an old samsung Dvd Burner Like mine ..But I dont use mine no more it's just in my case to plug up a hole up..LOL naw..I just use it to burn Music now..and data..I use my Lite-on and Benq to burn movies..Here a link to check out the firmware for yours..I found the site..for your sammy model. I patched into it by using the model number of yours ..Good luck with it but you do need to keep up with the firmware to work with other media..I perfer Taiyo Yuden or Verbatims..

    http://drivers.softpedia.com/progSearch

    And here's what ..I'm working with on my system to show you

    [​IMG]
    Click on the Image to get a bigger Picture!!


    @Binkie7
    Congrats to you Ms.Mod!!
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 12, 2007
  14. PacMan777

    PacMan777 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    3,836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    TSST Corp is Toshiba-Samsung. They're a big supplier of OEM drives. Usually firmware downloads will be available from the PC manufacturer's website, such as Dell or Gateway. Normally Ricoh is good media. I've got a lot of movies backed up on them. Sounds like a compatibility issue more than a quality one. Have you tried using the Ricohjpn media on another PC to see how they work?
     
  15. thismynme

    thismynme Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hey does anybody think that the new movies comming out are getting better at copy protection and since the DVD Decryptor isnt updated it cant back up the movie?
    it seems that most new movies that have come out are not abled to be backed up with dvd decryptor. if so is there any other more recent software to use that works?
     
  16. bigwill68

    bigwill68 Guest

    @thismynme

    I feel as long as we got anydvd working for us and keeping up with updates nothing should go wrong because they always find ways of getting past the protection matters and for dvddecryter true no more updates, but you still have imageburn they are like the same it just do alittle more and imageburn keeps it's updates going just go ahead jump on the imageburn wagon.lol
     
  17. PacMan777

    PacMan777 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    3,836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    If anything, most of the new releases are easier with the updated decryption software available. As bigwill mentioned, Slysoft is regularly updating AnyDVD, but that's a retail program. DVDIdle regularly updates and supplies DVDFab HD Decrypter for free. Lately the DVDIdle freeware has been doing a better job, at least on some obscure releases AnyDVD couldn't or wouldn't update to process, i.e. Blade: House of Chthon and Collier & Co. Hot Pursuit.

    DVD Decrypter was both a burner and decrypter. Bigwill pointed out ImgBurn. It's the updated burner software from DVD Decrypter, by the same author (LUK). Sadly the file name isn't the same, so work has to be done to make ImgBurn a supported burner in DVD Shrink. ImgBurn is probably the best freeware burning app available. It's not a necessity for doing DVD backups, but it's handy and it's free.

    DVDFab HD Decrypter, DVD Shrink, ImgBurn or DVD Decrypter (for burning) are all free and do a good job. FixVTS is handy for compliance processing for the occasional flawed or damaged DVD structure. Like I said, so far things are easier.

     
  18. PY2000

    PY2000 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yesterday I had Windows XP Pro SP2, today I have Windows Vista Ultimate. Throughout my XP Pro period, I’ve had no issues running RipIt4Me, DVDShrink, and DVD Decrypter for backing-up my DVD’s, now with Vista Ultimate, I keep receiving the following error message in DVDDecrypter:

    Failed to set data for ‘DVDDecrypterPlayDVDMovieOnArrival’ and multiples of these (seemingly for each file being ripped) Failed to set data for”.

    I’m thinking it might be my fault by perhaps, not adjusting a proper setting, but, I’m not sure which I would set, as it’s been a while since I’ve paid attention to them. I have run the Vista Compatibility Wizard to no avail, as I receive the identical error messages. If anyone could assist with the once again smooth operation of this software, I’d be much obliged. Thank you! PY
     
  19. PacMan777

    PacMan777 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    3,836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Decrypter is obsolete and never intended for Vista. You're not the only one with conflicts. I don't think I'd install XP for a dual boot system just for that. Try DVDFab HD Decrypter. It's updated regularly and was updated for use with Vista. You can pick up the latest version here. http://www.dvdfab.com/free.htm

    Remember to keep your software updated when possible.

    To replace the burner ware portion of DVD Decrypter, there's ImgBurn.
     
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2007
  20. PY2000

    PY2000 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thank you PacMan 777, I actually have DVDFab, but had probs with that when I first used it last year! Is there a guide for that software? And, are the updates always free?

    The odd thing about the DVDDecrypter errors, is after I click-off each of them it continues to the point of cleaning-up the files, then ending with DVDShrink as normal. I'm just wondering if there is a setting I need to change to rid myself of the errors? PY
     
  21. binkie7

    binkie7 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    18,492
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    No Vista user here but here's a link on what other users have done - run as administrator (if you're not already) or XP compatibility mode - link.

    Yes if you install DVDFab HD Decrypter the updates are free.

    I still use decrypter by it's lonesome on the discs that it can handle. IMHO it's the best ripper for those less than perfect discs.

    Oh and I closed this thread:
    http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/577989
    No multi posting - let's stick w/ this one :)
     
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2007
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page