1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVD freezes after a split second

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by Dantez, Nov 18, 2004.

1. Dantez

Dantez Member

Hi there, noob here with something I haven't encountered on any board so far

I've created a DVD with Nero Vision. Three XVid video clips with matching menus that I created in the program. Now to eliminate some causes already:

-preview worked fine

-Nero's conversion to DVD files went fine

-Burning process went fine.

-DVD loads (menus work) and plays fine on comp

-On TV DVD player (Daewoo 5800) it loads and menus work fine but when playing actual video it plays (image and sound) for a split second before freezing. I can still return to the menus but every chapter has the same effect. Split sec of movement and sound and then it freezes like I paused it.

The really strange thing is that other self-burned DVDs work fine. Same brand of burnable disk and everything, (Sony) only difference is that I burned those with DVD Santa. I can't create menus with Santa so I turned to Nero for that.

Anyone any ideas? Is there a difference in Nero and Santa conversion/burning? So far the only DVDs that froze this way were self-burned DVD- disks, but these are all the same DVD+ disks, the only difference is the burning program. And as said, the Santa ones work fine. Could it be the sound? I believe Nero is APC and Santa LPCM, but I do hear a split sec of sound, so...

Santa doesn't have a lot of options or settings to go through so if anyone knows what could be the trouble, I would really appreciate any advice.

2. pulsar

pulsar Active member

If I am not mistaken Sonys' media is not the best. I use Ritek, Packard Bell, Imation & Datawrite with no compatibilty issues. I would try different media

3. bigorange

bigorange Active member

It could be a compatibility issue with your media and the player or it could be the media itself as pulsar suggested.