1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVD labels or Printer?

Discussion in 'Video to DVD' started by apaykis, Jan 21, 2006.

1. apaykis

apaykis Member

Hey guys, i'm new to all this so bear with me if i ramble or make mistakes. I recently started backing up all of my dvd's and i would like them to look more or less nice. I at first thought to use a memorex LabelMaker. It comes with the applicator that is supposed to center the labels. I've been reading every forum post i could find and i keep getting jumbled opinions and most are from 2002. Some say that the labels will heat up and the glue will screw up the dvd and it will skip. Others say that the weight of the ink and label will make it wobble and that is what will mess it up. I've also read that it is better to get a printer that prints directly on the dvd. I've checked those printers out and the best one seems to be Epson Stylus Photo R200, R220, R300, R320, or R340. But all the reviews also say that the tray messes up after like 60 uses and the printer drinks up ink. From that it seems that its cheaper to just buy the extra copies of dvd's rather then pay for ink al the time. Also buying Printable DVD's is prolly a bit more expensive then what i use now, which is Verbatim DVD-Rs.

So basically i just want an honest straight answer. What will labels really do to my dvd's? Are there labels that will not mess up my DVDs? Is there a good printer that will work for hundreds of dvds and not drain ink? Are the Epson Stylus Photo printers worth getting? And if you which one would be best?

Thank you all in advance for any help you can offer me.

2. teflonmyk

teflonmyk Regular member

3. apaykis

apaykis Member