1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVD Media [bold]Please Help a Newbie[/bold]

Discussion in 'PS2' started by samuraicb, Oct 28, 2004.

  1. samuraicb

    samuraicb Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  2. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Probably not, they are in the same category as princo.
    http://www.digitalfaq.com/media/dvdmedia.htm
    BTW, ritek is rated as 2nd class, but a lot of people, including myself, recommend them.
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small][​IMG]

    V9 PS2, flip top, SMD, DVDLoader
    Pioneer 107, ritek g04
    DVD Shrink, DVD Decrypter, Nero[/small]
     
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2004
  3. axess68

    axess68 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2002
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I HIGHLY recommend Ritek Ridata. VERY reliable!
     
  4. samuraicb

    samuraicb Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks I'll try to get some Ritek Discs
    Do you know of any websites where I can purchase these discs for a reasonable price?
     
  5. nrk4594

    nrk4594 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    948
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Ritek ridata gave me problems with San Andreas. I went through 2 discs, both kept giving me error loading screens when playing the game. TDK 2x dvd-r worked fine with San Andreas. I've played hours straight without an error popping up during the game.
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small][​IMG][/small]
     
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2004
  6. samuraicb

    samuraicb Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I Have another Question about Ritek discs (because i've never used them before!)

    There are so many different kinds (Ritek DVD-R) are the all basically the same quality?
     
  7. axess68

    axess68 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2002
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I've used Ritek and Maxell (when I ran outta Riteks and needed some quickly). I've used both DVD+R and DVD-R. The only time I've had coasters was when I-myself screwed up or the original disc was too scratched and made a flawed image that I tried to make work anyway.

    I'm getting GTA: San Andreas today and I'll post later as to my results when I copy it onto one of my Ritek DVD-R's.

     
  8. ndnbolla

    ndnbolla Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2004
  9. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
  10. samuraicb

    samuraicb Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    axess68

    Did the maxell discs you mentioned also work well because i have a few of those and if they're ok i will use them until i get ritek ones

    I want to backup GTA San andreas BTW
     
  11. axess68

    axess68 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2002
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yep. The Maxell discs worked for me. Always remember NOT to burn them at any speed above 4x.

    I'm out the door to go get GTA:SA! Wooohoo!

    I'll post later when I get it copied and let you all know the results.

     
  12. samuraicb

    samuraicb Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thats Great

    when you backup GTASA please tell me what software you used and at what speed you burned

    thanks
     
  13. axess68

    axess68 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2002
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I just finished backing up my GTA:SA and I played through the first level to the Save. Yeah, this one is gonna be good! Lotsa Gansta stuff that I'm not really into, but the dynamic is cool and it's groovy. :)

    My PC: AMD-XP 2800 w/512mb of DDR3200 RAM.
    My Burner: NEC DVD+/-RW ND-3500AG (writes Dual Layer if need be)

    I created the image with DVD DECRYPTER and burned it to a disc with the same program at 4x. Works like a dream! Played through the first level with no problems. Dis game is wack, yo! ;-)

     
  14. samuraicb

    samuraicb Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    And you used ritek discs?

    I will try backing up mine to one of my maxell discs and see what happens

    what type of modchip do you have by the way?
     
  15. axess68

    axess68 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2002
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I used Ritek Ridata 8x DVD-R discs. Burned at 4x.

    I have a new PSTwo (new design) that doesn't require a modchip since it is a fliptop. The mod for it is easy to do. You can find the mod info on the ps2nfo.com site.

     
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2004
  16. samuraicb

    samuraicb Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I cant find the maxell discs so while i am waiting on the ritek ones arriving i bought a few TDK 4x Discs from a store that is very reliable (i didnt buy these on the internet)and they were fairly expensive.

    Anyway I ran one through DVDInfo and it said they were made by Taiyo Yuden (TYG01)but the website http://www.nomorecoasters.com said to be aware of fakes is there any definite way to tell if these are fake TYG01 Discs?
     
  17. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    are they tdk branded? if so, they are legit.
     
  18. samuraicb

    samuraicb Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    yeah they are TDK Branded
     
  19. ndnbolla

    ndnbolla Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Are these TDK's guaranteed to work on my PS2 v4?

    http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage...0838&skuId=6886284&productCategoryId=cat01163

    I think these may be the same ones you used.

    Also are these better than the sony ones i posted earlier? Sry if i am interuppting u'r thread or anything but i found these questions somewhat relative to urs.

    These TDK's will be only 10$ on the week of (11/07) from what ive heard. Thats a good deal for a 25 pack.
     
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2004
  20. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    might not work. the ps2 doesn't like 8x media.
     

Share This Page