1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

dvd media- still am confused on whats best.

Discussion in 'DVD±R media' started by nyblue_71, Nov 6, 2004.

1. nyblue_71

nyblue_71 Member

I am a newbie and have read alot of different guides on burning and dvd media. I am still not to sure which media I should purchase for my burner.I have read that princo,maxell and ritek are the best in media. Is this true? If so, where can I get the best deal? Someone told me www.egghead.com had good deals on media. Also, next to the media is 2x,4x, etc. Is this important? Thanks.

2. DAVNET

DAVNET Member

I tried alotta' brands. But, Ritek & Ridata work real good for me. I shop pricegrabber.com to find the best price. If your burner works well with a particular brand, always use the same than.

3. kinza

kinza Regular member

4. Mort81

Mort81 Senior member

myblue,
    Princo is not good for vidio reproduction. Taiyo Yuden is the best. Maxell, TDK, and Verbatum are good. My personal favorite is Ritek Ridata dvd+r (Ricohjpn R01). I think you meant Newegg. Thats where I buy all my media. Look here. http://www.newegg.com/app/manufact.asp?catalog=71&DEPA=0

5. vatsim5

vatsim5 Member

If you truly want the best then Taiyo Yuden should be your choice. They are more expensive but you really get
    what you pay for in DVD media. Ritek and Ridata are also
    good products. I keep a spindle of Taiyo Yuden handy for
    archiving important things like family movies and pictures and many documents that I need. I would not trust my very important documents and pictures to anything but TY. I use Ritek RICHOJPNG01 for all my
    movie duplications. Zeide

6. kyrainman

kyrainman Guest

Here is the best place I have found to by DVD's.
    http://www.supermediastore.com/ I used to buy from newegg.com, but have found the deals here to be comparable. And they very often have rebate coupons.