1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

dvd player won't play backups

Discussion in 'Video playback problems' started by fishbulb, Nov 9, 2004.

1. fishbulb

fishbulb Regular member

first of all i'm a newbie and i'm very impressed w/ the wealth of info i've seen here so far. i especially like ScubaPete's guide/instructions on how to do dvd backups. that being said, i need some help and so far haven't been able to find an answer in the forums. if someone could help or point me in the right direction i'd appreciate it.
    after spending over $1000 on a new computer w/ the ability to burn dvd's, i found out that my panasonic home theater dvd player/receiver WILL NOT play DVD-ROM, DVD-R, DVD-RAM, DVD+RW, DVD-RW, DIVX VIDEO DISC, CD-ROM, VSD, CDV, CVD, SVCD and a few others. DVD+R was NOT listed. can i assume that it WILL play those? or is there another format i can burn a dvd in that might work? btw, i bought a pack of DVD+RW and burned one before realizing my dvd player wouldn't play it. hope i can get a refund or exchange(fingers crossed)! thanx in advance.

2. ScubaPete

ScubaPete Senior member

3. gointl

gointl Member

Hi,
    Another newbie here as well with the same problem. I have a Panasonic PV-D734S who also bought a DVD burner only to find out that my DVD player only reads "DVD-Video format". It will not play DVD-R/RW or DVD+R/RW. How is DVD-Video format different from the DVD-R/+R's or is it trying to tell me this machine will only play the commercial CD's and not backups?
    Any comments would be greatly appreciated.
    Thx.
    Gene

4. ScubaPete

ScubaPete Senior member

You sound like the kind of person who would find this interesting -

Find that answer and a million more things you didn't know about DVD's and types of players -

Excellent to check up with before you go shopping for another player -

http://www.dvddemystified.com/dvdfaq.html#3.10