1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVD plays fine -- for a while

Discussion in 'DVD Shrink forum' started by bobgarick, Apr 17, 2005.

1. bobgarick

bobgarick Guest

I'm a newbie, but have had no trouble making that I think are working backups of my DVDs, but everything time I do it, I play the movie though to verify and about 3/4 of the way through, the picture starts freezing up and won't continue. And it has happened for 2 different movies.

Is that the copy protection?

I've also created (with same movie) using DVDRipper and DVDShrink, but the ultimate outcome is the same.

Please advise...

Bob

2. saugmon

saugmon Senior member

Sounds like you have questionable media quality. Here's a few things to try:

1)reduce your backup target in dvd shrink:
    Edit/preferences/click on dvd-5/scroll till you get to custom/set target to 4300 mbs/OK.

2) Slow down the burnspeed,4x max. Some standalone players require even slower speeds.

3)No multi-tasking,turn everything off that you don't need.

4)No paper/sticker type labels.

5)Reduce the compression.

Try these,they are the first things to do when issues you describe arrises.

What brand name/format/and speed rate are your blank discs?

What is you burner brand name and model #?

3. syeberman

syeberman Member

It could also be a compatibility issue with the media and a standalone DVD player.....

Is the disc fully playable in the drive that burnt the DVD?

Jon.

4. jmet

jmet Regular member

As previously mentioned in the first reply.

If your backup freezes, stutters, skips, or has some pixelation, it is more than likely due to poor quality media being used. Cheap media is poorly manufactured around the edge of the disc, hence the reason why it mostly skips toward the end of the movie. The two main things to consider first are: