1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVD Problems

Discussion in 'DVD Shrink forum' started by roo88, Nov 24, 2004.

1. roo88

roo88 Member

Ok, I'm also new to this all too..
    A friend told me about Dvd Shrink, so I tried it...and I do have Nero 6. and thought I was doing everything right..It went thru all the process fine, with no error message..and I played it on Dvd here on my computer to make sure it copied it ok and that worked, so then I go to play on my dvd player, it either plays a little then says my disc is bad, or freezes and even on few it just skips...I know it's not the dvd player since we have 2 of them & I tried them both..I've wasted so much money on dvd's ...and the only place seems to work is on my computer...and my son doesn't like to sit here in front of computer to watch his favorite movies...
    Please help...

2. colw

colw Active member

Problems are typical of poor quality media or the use of labels on your burnt media.

What brand of media are you using? Many standalones can be very finicky with burnt media.

3. edgex

edgex Member

Try Ritek G04 media, and burn at a slower speed. This is normaly a good combination to burn with. Then general rule is slower the burn, better the quality.

4. kchev

kchev Regular member

what media are you using?

slow down burn speed or don't go over 4x

do not use computer for ANYTHING during encoding or burning

5. roo88

roo88 Member

I'm am using Memorex.
    And colw, I do put labels on the ones that I burn...I will try without & see if there is a difference. What the sense of having CD/DVD labels?
    It's burns at 4x. so you guys are saying maybe I should try 3x.
    Another stupid question, where do I change the speed again. Is it right on the DVD Shrink option or Nero 6?
    Thanks guys...

6. kchev

kchev Regular member

you should be ok burning at 4x though with good media