1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

dvd-r 8 speed help!

Discussion in 'DVD±R media' started by melix04, Jan 16, 2007.

  1. melix04

    melix04 Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have an LG DVD burner and a Samsung R121 DVD Recorder, when i burn home movies onto the DVD-R 8 speed disk It cant read the disk and it just ejects from the dvd player.
    I have tried the disks on other dvd players and they work but does anyone know why my disks arent palying in my dvd player.

    I have been using Princo dvd-r 4 speed disks and they are fine, but the place that i get them from no longer sells the 4 speed only 8.
    Please help!!
     
  2. TY4ever

    TY4ever Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Try using DVD+R media instead of the -R format because the +R format can be booktyped into DVD-ROM which increases playback compatibility on your dvd player.Princo is not that very good media,instead you can use TY or verbatim which are top notch medias.


    Vincent.
     
  3. melix04

    melix04 Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    but i went onto Samsungs website and they say that the DVD Recorder onlyt takes -R disks that are 4 speed.
     
  4. saugmon

    saugmon Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    6,064
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    116
    I couldn't locate any info on that samsung stand alone recorder,but it sounds like you say it's dash format only.

    After backups are done,the compatability factors in. That LG drive does not like something about that backup. If it played -4x princos,but not the -8x-then there's something about your newer -8x backups.

    Princo aren't highly recommended because of their varying quality of their manufacturers. This quality can make some drives play them ok,and others not.

    Try to locate some dash format in the 8x or 1x-8x speed: Verbatim,Taiyo yuden,or the japanese spindles of sony/fuji/and maxell. Because of the many different manufacturers that sony/fuji/and maxell use,look on the shrink wrapper for the Made in Japan for the highest quality media.Avoid them if they say: Made in Taiwan.

    If you get the 16x media,you may run into a firmware issue on your stand alone recorder. Mine says 4x only,but 16x verbatim will work on her.

    Now once you get that LG to recognize those dash backups,then you can use the plus format and booktype them to dvd-rom so they'll play in a higher percentage of stand alone players,game consoles,and pc drive.

    Look for a newer firmware update for your LG burner. What's the model# and firmware version of it? Also look for the MID codes of those -4x and -8x princos and post back.

    Dvdidentifier-free- will tell you the answers to those questions.

    http://www.afterdawn.com/software/video_software/dvd-r_tools/dvd_identifier.cfm
     
  5. melix04

    melix04 Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I know a bit about firmwire stuff but i have heard that you can stuff the dvd burner up is that true. What is the best website to get firware from for an LG DVD burner not sure of the model number, as im not near the pc.
     
  6. saugmon

    saugmon Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    6,064
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Look up your model # here:

    http://forum.rpc1.org/dl_all.php

    Make sure it matches because there are a lot of rebadges out there.


    Stuffed up? You can put too much data on a dvd. It's called burning to the outer edge of the disc. It's not advised if using low quality media like princo,prodisc,cmags,etc.
     
  7. tsquare43

    tsquare43 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    @saugmon

    Just a guess, but I think by "stuffing it up" he meant "screwing it up", as in using the wrong firmware.
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2007
  8. melix04

    melix04 Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    the store that i was buying my disks from had other people complain that the 8 speed disks arnt working so they have found another supplyer, but they are going to take about 2 weeks in the mean time is was going to get some Sony 4 speed -R disks are they ok to use, and are they better than princo. If all goes alright with the sony disks i may just use them from now on.
     
  9. saugmon

    saugmon Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    6,064
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Those were the worst sony media ever made. They were manufactured in taiwan and austria under the MID code of Sony04D1. They were extinct a long time ago in my realm.

    If that's all you can locate:

    Look at the yellow paper label for the country they were manufactured.If they say made in taiwan,get them. If made in austria,avoid them.

    You got a bestbuy,staples,office max,office depot nearby?
     
  10. melix04

    melix04 Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    im in Perth Australia, but not sure who sells the brands have phoned up a few places but no luck.
     
  11. melix04

    melix04 Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I will have a look for the model number and everything when I get home from work, thans for this you will hear from me soon.
     

Share This Page