1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

dvd-r Burns ok, but playback dodgy

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by martin77, Sep 28, 2004.

1. martin77

martin77 Guest

Hi there folks,

I am relatively new to dvd authoring - I don't know if I should have put this in the newbie forum, if so I apologise.

I've used Roxio Easy Cd & Dvd Creator 6 to try making dvds from AVIs I've downloaded (they work ok in winamp and media player, so seems like the files are ok).

It all goes nice and smoothly, and burn ok. The trouble begins when I try to play them back. In Powerdvd 5.0, it plays the intro (that Roxio automatically inserts unless the user removes it) but won't play the film. In Nero Showtime, it plays the film more or less ok, but the sound is horrific.

They work ok on my girlfriend's tv & dvd player - but I haven't got either, just a pc and it turns out I can't watch my own films!

Any suggestions as to how I can sort this out?

Thanks!

All the best, martin.

2. alfapaul

alfapaul Member

What media have you used martin? What DVD writer and player are you using on your PC?

3. heybilly

heybilly Regular member

Quality Media and a Slowww burn speed should fix that right up.

4. martin77

martin77 Guest

Hi, big cheers for the fast response....

I'm using Piodata 8x dvd-r and an nec 2510A dvd-rw drive. I'm no expert, but friends use the piodata discs and they're fine... I've used them to burn image and mp3 data and they've been fine...

Whenever I try to play the dvd, powerdvd displays an Edit Playlist window, with the folders video_ts and audio_ts.

Thanks again,

Martin

5. alfapaul

alfapaul Member

Piodata is crap media, sometimes only 50% success rate with DVD or video backups. See http://www.digitalfaq.com/media/dvdmedia.htm for more details.