1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVD-R life

Discussion in 'DVD±R media' started by kenkell, Feb 8, 2005.

1. kenkell

kenkell Member

I'm still new to burning and I read all these posts about certain blank media types crapping out months after the movie is burned on them! I thought the burned movies and what ever else gets burned to the medai could last a very long time? What's the deal here and why does the media crap out after months? I would figure with proper storage they could last a very long time? I use the TDK brand and am switching to Taiyo Yudens soon. what can I expect on all the movie media I've burned to be like in months or years to come? Someone has had to be burning movie files for quite some time to know the answers here. Please enlighten me! Of course I would want these movies to last for years to come for myself and friends! I've burned cd's that have been playing for years now!

2. JLebowski

JLebowski Member

use good quality DVD's like the TY your getting. The TDK might be OK depending on who made them. It's hard to tell how long the data can be stores since burning DVD'd haven't been around that long. If you use TY the have a about a 100year life expaectany, so do verbatim data life plus.

3. Kingd

Kingd Guest

kenkell: The problem with both Cd and DvD media is that they haven't been around long enough to actually know whether the 100 year claim is true or not. I've read articles which claim that those numbers are much lower. I guess we will know for sure in about 50 years haha. Generally speaking, good media like Taiyo Yuden should last if you take care of them. Not sure about the TDK's or other's. You would have to check the manufacturing codes and see who manufactured it. In all likelyhood most cd's should be fine, but there is an escalating probability with cheap manufacturers that their cd's or dvd's might go bad at some point.

4. kenkell

kenkell Member