1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVD-R playback errors! PLEASE help me!

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by wotan1017, May 27, 2004.

1. wotan1017

wotan1017 Member

Hey everyone.

First I want to say thank you to all the people who work so hard to reply to the posts of newbies like me. Your knowledge and tutilage has been invaluable.
    I am brand new to DVD burning but I feel like I am getting the hang of it (thanks to you guys). I am however having serious playback problems with my dvd-rs. I have burned 15 dvds so far and every one of them has slight errors. These are 1-2 second pauses in the video and audio. During these pauses the video becomes pixeled and a kind of scratching sound is heard. This problem is prevalent in some copies more than others and it is seriously ruining my burning experience.
    Here is my process: I use DVD Shrink to read the disc (I do not use the deep scan as I have heard it is useless and time consuming). I usually compress at around 60-70%. When compression is finished I use Nero 6 to write the disk. I am using Ritek DVD-Rs.
    I have a feeling (from reading earlier posts) that I will be told to purchase better media. Unfortunately, I do not have as much money to invest in this project as I would like, so my media choices are limited to the inexpensive, bulk packs.
    There must be something I can do with my existing media. PLEASE help me. Thanks.

2. bigorange

bigorange Active member