1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

dvd-r playback freezes after 30mins on dvd player

Discussion in 'DVD±R for advanced users' started by markw1510, Feb 3, 2005.

  1. markw1510

    markw1510 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Currently trying to use shrink 3.2 to rip to HDD then nero recode 2.2 to burn to dvd-r.

    No errors are reported and all seems to go through fine using default settings. (I always pull back a few mb to keep away from overburn)

    The result works great when played back on the same
    PC, but always goes extremely choppy then ultimately freezes (after 30mins or so) when I try it on a standalone dvd player.

    I've tried swapping dvd players and swapping media, but get same result.

    PC is new and has latest firmware (1.18), plenty of HDD and RAM.

    ...really REALLY tied of making coasters. Any help/ suggestions PLEASE !!!?
     
  2. Rotary

    Rotary Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    try the disc on other stanalone players! ps2 etc

    it may be that? i would of plummed for the media though?!?

     
  3. squizzle

    squizzle Active member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    2,867
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    I had that problem and blamed it on compatibility. Mine would start out fine, at about the middle it'd start to jump and skip, then somewhere close to the end it would just freeze altogether. But they worked fine on other players.
     
  4. larrylje

    larrylje Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    12,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    May I ask why you would use shrink to rip and then use recode2 to burn? you should use 1 or the other. I dont see why you would need to use both programs to Copy the DVD. If you use Shrink then burn the files Shrink made to a disc using nero. Or have shrink make an ISO image and burn with decrypter. But you dont need to recode it again in recode2 to burn the DVD. That could be your problem.
     
  5. Rotary

    Rotary Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    yup!

    like larrylje said encoding twice may be a problem!
     
  6. markw1510

    markw1510 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks for the feedback all.. finally got it sussed!

    I replaced nero with decrypter and problem gone.

    FYI I wasn't recoding twice just using nero recode to burn. Made no difference when swapping to nero burning ROM.

    I guess my PC just doesn't like nero. pity 'cause I liked its other features.. just can't burn worth a fig!
     
  7. Mort81

    Mort81 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    5,921
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    If you have nero INCD or roxio burning utility they could be interfering with the nero burning utility. If you do, get rid of them.
     

Share This Page