1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVD Rebuilder w/CCE SP -Need help

Discussion in 'Convert DVD to another format' started by emichon, Apr 26, 2005.

  1. emichon

    emichon Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi,

    I was backing up my DVDs, and I just wanted to know if it was normal that it took over 2 hours to back them up with DVD Rebuilder w/CCE SP? Is there a way to make this go faster but still keep the quality?

    Any help would be apreciated.
     
  2. emichon

    emichon Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    BTW in my system I have a P4 2.53(533FSB) & 1GB Ram
     
  3. Car.Mike

    Car.Mike Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Messages:
    3,787
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66
    emichon,
    Welcome to the forum.
    Times are about normal. If you can find a faster way everyone wants to know. Don't forget you are ripping it in 12-15 minutes encoding in 1-1/2 hours and burning in about 15 minutes so your times are similiar to mine. Never let it be said that quality is fast
     
  4. emichon

    emichon Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ya I guess that's true. I guess I just got used to other programs like DVDCopy which only takes like 30 mins.

    And what setting should I use with CCE SP? Should I set the VRB Passes to 2 or 3. Will there be a noticeable difference?

    And is there a way to choose the size of the output? I'm asking this because I have some questionable media, and I find that usually when I burn something over 4-4.1GB, the end of the video skips.


     
  5. Car.Mike

    Car.Mike Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Messages:
    3,787
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66
    I usually only do a 2 pass. The larger the file and the more compression you use the more passes in theory you should use.
    Below is a thread 71 pages that might interest you. If you need more sites to go to PM me and I'll send them to you.
    In the new Pro version the movie only segment has been added but to my knowledge there is no burn to 4300mb available. If there is then I have not found it yet. I have only used the proggy about 9-10 times as most of the backups I do I do movie only. If I want the added features I'll bring out the original

    http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/97052
     
  6. emichon

    emichon Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    So you would use 1 vaf + 1 passes or 1 vaf + 2 passes?
     
  7. Car.Mike

    Car.Mike Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Messages:
    3,787
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66
    emichon
    Are you talking about the VBR Passes in CCE that are in the customised setting. If so I do 2

    The size settings are in the hidden settings area:

    "CCETargetSectors=2260000

    This sets the size of the DVD. The default size (without this line) is 2236400, which in my experience gives you a final size of about 4.32GB. When I first set this option, I used 2265000 instead of 2260000 and it worked fine, except that it eventually gave me a DVD that was 14MB too big for a blank. Since lowering it by 5000 I've never had this problem (most movies end up within 30MB of a full disk), although occasionally using RB-Opt to change bitrates after the Prepare Phase lowers the size marginally.

    If you're using lower quality or questionable media it's best to leave this setting alone because it will help you avoid playback problems due to poor dye distribution on the outside edge of the disc. In any case, this setting is more for those of us who want the disc full on general principle since the default setting should fill about 99% of the disc already, and the extra 1% isn't likely to get you any noticeable increase in quality. "

    Go here for the info:

    http://www.afterdawn.com/guides/archive/dvd_rebuilder_tutorial_advanced_page_6.cfm
     
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2005
  8. jdobbs

    jdobbs Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2004
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Unfortunately the only way you can get that kind of quality is by reencoding, and reencoding takes a long time. That's the trade-off.
     
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2005

Share This Page