1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

dvd rip speed with smartripper

Discussion in 'Convert DVD to another format' started by AND1, Jul 20, 2002.

  1. AND1

    AND1 Guest

    Hi i have windows xp and i'm trying to rip movies with my lite-on 16 dvd rom drive but the speed wont go higher than 1.8x I know you go to the device manger and turn DMA on but still nothing happens. Did anyone else have the same problem? Can you guys help me out?
     
  2. TheFlyer

    TheFlyer Guest

    Hi.

    Maybe the dvd-is dirty or scratched.
    Try to clean the dvd carefully with a soft peace of textile.
    I had the same problem with some dvd:s and i cleaned the dvd and it worked better then.
    You can also try to rip the dvd with the
    Clad DVD, that program can often rip bad scratched dvd:s better that SmartRipper can.

    Peter.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 20, 2002
  3. AND1

    AND1 Guest

    there is nothing wrong with the discs they are perfect.
     
  4. dRD

    dRD I hate titles Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 1999
    Messages:
    8,650
    Likes Received:
    118
    Trophy Points:
    143
    a) defrag your HDD
    b) check that the DMA is really turned on for your IDE controller and for the drive -- XP specially has issues with this
    c) check that your HDDs have DMA turned on as well
     
  5. TheFlyer

    TheFlyer Guest

    Hi dRD.

    Where do i check that about DMA in Windows XP?
    It´s working fine for me but just in case.

    Peter.
     
  6. dRD

    dRD I hate titles Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 1999
    Messages:
    8,650
    Likes Received:
    118
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Uh, don't remember. Somewhere in Control Panel, System, Hardware, Devices or something like that. There you see all your hardware installed and can check their settings. The IDE ports are one that you need to check if they're turned as PIO, you need to turn them to DMA.
     
  7. scatter

    scatter Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I don't know if this helps, but when I installed XP I did it as an upgrade and always got around a 10 x speed with smart ripper, but when I redid my hard drive I went from the FAT32 system to the NTFS file system. I have been told by others this is because it compresses the outcome better to take less space so the program rips it slower. I don't know if that is true or not but seems to be that way with me.
     
  8. TheFlyer

    TheFlyer Guest

    Hi.

    I have experienced the same with my computer.
    When i had FAT 32 the SmartRipper did rip faster and now when i use NTFS it`s slower.
    I´t could be the reason that NTFS use you HD better concerning space,but i´m not sure.
    I have read many article´s about Fat32 compared to NTFS and many of they says that NTFS is a bit slower but more safe file system to use.
    I get a speed around 2-7 when i am ripping with SmartRipper on NTFS-filesystem,of course
    depending on the quality of the DVD you are ripping meaning if it have scratches ,dirt etc.

    Peter.
     
  9. GotNissan

    GotNissan Guest

    the speed of your computer could be slowing things down. I only got a 4x rip speed with my 433mhz celeron, with my 8x dvd-rom drive. i just picked up a 1.6 P4 and now i can rip the full 8x with the exact same dvd-rom drive. so your cpu power could be an issue, but definetaly check and make sure that your DMA is enabled, mine wasn't at first and i couldn't rip more than .9x and that sucked.
     
  10. abstract1

    abstract1 Guest

    I am using Smart Ripper 2.41 and when ripping i get speeds of about .3x thus taking me approx. 48h to burn.

    Computer is AMD Athlon 1.2G, 128M SDRAM, 40G 5400rpm HDD, WINDOWS XP, 12x DVD SAMSUNG

    Will adding a 256M or 512M stick of ram increase this ripping speed by Much? How much?

    Is there something else that will speed up ripping.

    Thanks

     
  11. GotNissan

    GotNissan Guest

    i don't think adding more ram to your computer will help unless maybe your running 10 programs at the same time your running smartripper. and if you do get any gains i doubt it would be what you were hoping for, and i doubt it would be worth what you paid for the ram.
     
  12. dahut

    dahut Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2002
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i have the same problem...

    1.7-1.8x rip speed

    on a 16x dvd
    p4 1.8ghz
    512mb sdram
    DMA is on but it dosnt help..

    realy anoying coz it takes like 45-50 mins just to rip the vobs.. =(


    do u guys think its time for a new dvd-rom ?

    if so.. can u give some advice on what brand/model to get for superb speed/qual

    thanks
     
  13. GotNissan

    GotNissan Guest

    it could be your dvd-rom about to go out on you. i had to replace mine a few weeks ago. it worked great on my old puter but once i got my new puter and ripped movies about 4x i started having problems, i would get a lot of errors while ripping, the errors would cause me to not be able to use smartripper, i could still use dvddecrypter though, i would rip a movies and have like 50 errors, finaly i ripped and encoded to movies, then i stuck the movies in my dvd player and the audio went out of sync shortly after i started the movies, so then i decided it was time to get a new dvd-rom drive. i picked up a 16x, yet i have never ripped at 16x yet, i have gotten as high as 12x. You could always pick up a dvd-rom drive from your nearest electronics store, hook it up and if your rip speed doesn't improve just return it to the store. you should be able to get one for around 59.00 u.s. i seen some for as cheap as 40.00 all 16x speeds. good luck, throwing in a new drive just might help.
     
  14. jnihil

    jnihil Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    869
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Don't the CD/DVD drive vendors quote the instantaneous maximum speed (not sustained speed) for the specs? My 8x DVD-ROM has never ripped DVDs over 2.5x and Nero's DVDspeed test show the same results, so it's nothing to do with the decryption processing by the CPU.
     
  15. dahut

    dahut Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2002
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    might be but i have been up to 8.something once with it was long time ago tho..
     
  16. johnnym

    johnnym Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2002
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    On my 16x drive there is no place to check or uncheck DMA in Windows XP. Used to be a feature of 98 but to my knowledge that is no longer an option. It must be handled internally.

    I've had two DVD drives and both rip at 1.8 to 2.0.

    All disks are spotless.

    Sure would like to know how folks are getting speeds of 4 or 8.

    Any more clues from anyone? Thanks.
     
  17. dRD

    dRD I hate titles Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 1999
    Messages:
    8,650
    Likes Received:
    118
    Trophy Points:
    143
    You need to go to your IDE controllers first and turn the DMA option on from there, otherwise you wont see the option for your DVD-ROM either.
     
  18. johnnym

    johnnym Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2002
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yeah, they're "dma if available" for the IDE controllers but no such option exists under the CD ROM drives.
     
  19. KLOZ

    KLOZ Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have the same problem and I am running a P4 2.53Ghz 533FSB with the new Asus Motherboard and a 16X Lite-on Drive and I can only hit 1.9 X I know this is not good because my old COmpaq a P4 1.7 Ghz with an 8X dvd hit around 3-4X and it was also running XP pro in NTFS. I have used XPtweek to change the Cach to a higher value and still no change.
     
  20. Zhadoom

    Zhadoom Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2002
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    This info has been discussed in other threads. When I changed over to Windows 2000, SmartRipper dropped down to less than 1x.
    Others suggested that the DMA be turned on, yes this improved a bit, but it wasn't until I changed SmartRippers setting from Auto to Normal that I got a much better speed. Anywhere upto 9x, depends on the disk. Try it,if it doesn't speed it up immediately, change it and compare.
     

Share This Page