1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVD-Rs on Silver PS2?

Discussion in 'PS2' started by A-Razz, Dec 11, 2003.

  1. A-Razz

    A-Razz Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Does anyone know if the new Silver PS2s plays DVD-R discs (movies not games) without a modchip?

    Thanks
     
  2. stunn611

    stunn611 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    [bold] i dont about the silver ps2 but i have a black ps2 without a mod chip and i was able to play copied dvd movies[/bold]
     
  3. SoCalSRH

    SoCalSRH Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    ...
     
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2013
  4. A-Razz

    A-Razz Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    OK Thanks for the help

    I wanted to know becouse i have a normal black PS2 and the DVD-r discs don't work on it.
     
  5. Icemonkey

    Icemonkey Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    v9 and v10 PS2's are black just like the rest. They can be distinguished by the model # SCPH-5000x on the box and also specifically say they are compatible with +/-R media. I'm not sure what you mean by the silver PS2. Is it one of the limited edition machines being sold online or are you talking about the new PSX macine that's coming out next year?
     
  6. Icemonkey

    Icemonkey Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Also, every PS2 plays DVD movie backups right out of the box. If you're having problemsm playing backups of movies you made it's likely a media quality/burn speed issue. v1-4 PS2's also don't read +R discs although some newer v4's are reported work.
     

Share This Page