1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVD-RW Copies at Slow Speed

Discussion in 'DVD±R for advanced users' started by craig1984, Jul 4, 2007.

  1. craig1984

    craig1984 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hey all,

    Please help as this is a very strange problem i have. When using dvd decrypter on my Vista PC it copies at 1.4rpm( Gradually increasing to 3.5rpm)! IT TAKES 45 mins TO BACKUP A DVD! :(. I dont have many things running in the back ground, mainly side bar and Mcafee Internet Security Suite. I have checked the DMA settings and it is enabled. Burn speed is fine.

    The system has been defraged and cleaned.

    THe PC is a DELL XPS 210. Specs are
    Windows Vista Home Premium
    Intel Core 2 6600 2@ 2.39Ghz
    4 gig RAM
    300 gig HDD (200 gig spare)
    256 Radeon ATI X1300 Graphics Card
    Vista rating 4.2
     
  2. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,504
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    128
  3. MichaelP1

    MichaelP1 Guest

    4x is the top burn speed of a DVD-RW

    if you want to burn faster use either DVD dash R or DVD plus R format
     
  4. craig1984

    craig1984 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I am using dvd-r data disks its only slow when ripping i'll give dvdfab hd a try and let you know. Thanks for the response
     
  5. MichaelP1

    MichaelP1 Guest

  6. craig1984

    craig1984 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    DMA Mode is enabled already checked. But still nothing last one ripped at 1.3. SSSOOO SLOW. Thanks for the response
     
  7. MichaelP1

    MichaelP1 Guest

    what brand of drive is it?

    some have ripguard on them thats probably your problem
     
  8. craig1984

    craig1984 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Its a HL-DT-ST DVD+-RW. Well thats all it says on device manager. Brought the PC from Dell. Its a XPS 210.
     
  9. MichaelP1

    MichaelP1 Guest

    i bet the drive has ripguard on it but I'm at a lose how to bypass it sorry
     
  10. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,504
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    128
    As I understand it, Ripguard, is a function of the disk, not the drive - and neither DVD Decrypter nor DVD Fab or AnydVD have a problem with it.
    Run DVD Decrypter > Tools > Drive and look at 'Capabilities' for the read speed then 'Check for firmware updates' to see if one is available.
     
  11. craig1984

    craig1984 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hi,

    Jus done it and maxium read speed is 4234 and checked for frmware "Sorry. The specified string could not be found." i got that error. Once again thanks for all the help. DVDFab did the same as DVD Derypter. DO you think its cos im running Vista?
     
  12. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,504
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Even though it says that DMA is on, I would go into the PC bios and check the controller is set 'Auto'.
    With DMA on I rip 6.2GB in thirteen minutes,maximum 7x.
    In PIO it takes 35 minutes at 2.2x.
     
  13. craig1984

    craig1984 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Checked bios and is set to auto, on my old PC i could rip at 7.3 easy, but this starts at 1.2 then when the ripping has finished its at 2.8 to 3.2. Takes 40 mins! Something is wrong somewhere, even closed all processes bar the ones need for windows to operate and still no joy. Even though Daemon Tools maybe affecting it so uninstalled it. But nothing.
     
  14. craig1984

    craig1984 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I.ve found the solution! Windows Vista is S**T. If i run it as admin it works fine, but if i just run it normally, it runs really slow. Bill Gates, when you going to make something that actually works fine? Everyone thanks for your help. You've been extremly helpful
     
  15. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,504
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    128
    How we got to the moon is beyond me.
     
  16. MichaelP1

    MichaelP1 Guest

    LMAO yeah Vista is shit thats why noones buying it
     
  17. craig1984

    craig1984 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    It came free with the PC! As they say if its free! why not? But wish i never bother'd. So now i have to keep running as administrator to rip dvds! Oh Billy boy, shame you'll never know what sleeping with a lady is like.
     

Share This Page