1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

dvd+rw or dvd+r

Discussion in 'PS2' started by Jake2003, Feb 8, 2003.

  1. Jake2003

    Jake2003 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I'm pretty much rewording the question below but I have a ps2 scph-30001 R and a dvd+rw drive-if I burn a dvd+rw game should it be able to work in the ps2? and if not what media would? Also I can't burn dvd-r or -rw (my writer can't).
     
  2. c7015

    c7015 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2003
    Messages:
    863
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    your model could be a 4 5 or 6
    5 and 6 are the same but you should be fine for dvd+r. but if you have a version 4 it wont read +r format
    if you find out that you cant I would tade in your ps2 for a newer one or swap the dvd burner for minus the more popular format (at least for now) or get one that will burn both sony DUR..
     
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2003
  3. Jake2003

    Jake2003 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    but version 5 WON'T read dvd+rw right? because right now I am burning onto a dvd+rw and nothing is happening
     
  4. c7015

    c7015 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2003
    Messages:
    863
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    no u cant use the rw discs for games
     
  5. Jake2003

    Jake2003 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Ok I just wasted a dvd+r-im getting really pissed now-I have tried a dvd+r and a dvd+rw trying to burn GTA3-I'm using the first messiah in a scph-30001 R-is there any hope at copying a game or should I just give up now?
     
  6. c7015

    c7015 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2003
    Messages:
    863
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  7. Jake2003

    Jake2003 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    yes-I have the version 5/6 with the screw
     
  8. c7015

    c7015 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2003
    Messages:
    863
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    well than dvd+r discs will work with your ps2 I think you have to check with the messiah chip that would be the only thing that I can think of the problem being
     
  9. Jake2003

    Jake2003 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    well I don't want to screw up my system taking it apart but if it helps all of the backups that I bought are dvd-rs
     
  10. c7015

    c7015 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2003
    Messages:
    863
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    actually I cant even guess what the problem is I checked on the messiah chip and there is nothign that would stop it from playing in your system


    are all of the games that you bought on the same type of media (eg..verbatum)

    try different disc types
     
  11. Jake2003

    Jake2003 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    the two that I tried (dvd+rw and dvd+r) were hp
     
  12. c7015

    c7015 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2003
    Messages:
    863
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    try a verbatum

    and dont use the rw disc
     
  13. Jake2003

    Jake2003 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    alright-thanks for your help
     
  14. 144000

    144000 Guest

    i practiced on a fuji DVD+RW w/120%alcohol with nba live 2003 and madden 2003 and worked like it was the real deal. and i picked up memorex DVD+R today and backed up 3 dvd games and worked liiike the ReAl deAL too. thanks dex for the backup info
     
  15. 144000

    144000 Guest

    oh yeah i forgot to say that my ps2 is version 7. with a magic 3.1

    peace
     
  16. jr1966

    jr1966 Guest

    +r and +rw do work for games on v5 because that is what i use.
     
  17. c7015

    c7015 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2003
    Messages:
    863
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    yeah nobody said they didnt

    but version 4's dont read them
     
  18. Wizkid

    Wizkid Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2002
    Messages:
    1,218
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    +r and +rw work fine on my PS2 30004R version 5 !!
    I use Platinum +r and +rw.
    Also used HP +r and +rw works fine too.
    Also used verbatim DVD+r works fine too.

     
  19. remy888

    remy888 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi there just reading your thread and it seems like you people know alot about this topic.
    I have a PS2 SCPH 30001R v4 no gap and just had my magic 3.1 installed yesterday. When the guy finished installing it I tested it with an original first Devil May Cry and it work. Kewl! Then I got out my only back available at the time which is an old CD-R PS game Fear Effect Disk 1. It booted too so I'm thinking great this chip really works. :) But when I got home I figure lets double check and make a backup of my Devil May Cry disk. My DVD burner is a Sony DRU500A firmware 1f. I have Veritas RecordNow that came with the burner. (by the way which is a great program as it's help me make all my Xbox backups) My problem is I tried making the backup with a Princo DVD-RW and the original Sony DVD+RW but my PS2 just goes to the brower screen and says, "X Push" but just keeps trying to read the disk.. damm! Even tried Nero which everybody is talking about but same thing and Parsi Primo DVD does not recognize my burner. Even tried my other game Dragonballz Budokai not luck. Can't ps2's read rewriteables??? or is only my version of PS2??? Thanks in advance for your knowledge and help :)
     
  20. c7015

    c7015 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2003
    Messages:
    863
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    well some of them can and soem cant I doubt that yours does because it is a version 4 also there is some confusion on version 4's and +r I have read that the v4 dosent read + discs but some people claim that they can so who knows
    solution try a dvd-r disc
     

Share This Page