1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVD SHRINK AND VISTA

Discussion in 'DVD Shrink forum' started by WOLFBOY58, Feb 5, 2008.

  1. WOLFBOY58

    WOLFBOY58 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have just purchased a new pc and installed dvd shrink, dvd, decriptor and dvd fab. dvd decriptor and dvd fab work fine just can't burn with dvd shrink, just says failed to create folder yet I am viewing the folder. With vista seems to be the problem. I have vista home premium. If I can get to burn the disk it either burns it in windows photoshop, or nero 8. Tried imgburn same thing just will not burn, tried all helpful hints in forum and no luck so far. I have removed dvd shrink from my pc anything else I should use or try, as dvd shrink seems not to work either by download or copying from store bought dvd.can do anylisis of movie but thats it.either vista has to go or i'll go crazy trying to fix this
     
  2. catfreak

    catfreak Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    2,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
  3. WOLFBOY58

    WOLFBOY58 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    HOPE MICROSOFT GETS IT RIGHT WITH THERE NEXT OPERATING SYSTEM NEXT YEAR WHEN IT COMES OUT, HAHAH
     
  4. WOLFBOY58

    WOLFBOY58 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    HAS ANYBODY GOT IT TO WORK OAND HOW DID YOU DO IT, OR IS IT JUST AS SIMPLE AS GOING BACK TO XP
     
  5. cyprusrom

    cyprusrom Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    If you have Nero 8...why not use Nero Recode instead of DVD Shrink?
     
  6. WOLFBOY58

    WOLFBOY58 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    DOES IT EVEN WORK WITH VISTA, HAVEN'T HEAD ANYTHING ON THAT I'LL TRY IT
     
  7. Deadrum33

    Deadrum33 Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Wolfboy---Vista has of yet to work out the bugs. I still use XP but many people in threads similar to yours recommend going to your program shortcut or whatever icon you use to open your program and right click it>Properties>Compatability tab>check the box "run program in compatibility>highlight WindowsXP in the pulldown box that lights when you check the box.
    type "vista" + any other word into this sites search bar and you'll find many threads like yours. Not many like Vista yet but hope this helps.
    EDIT___Yes Nero works with the latest updates and IMHO Recode is better than Shrink even though nearly the same thing.
     
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2008
  8. cyprusrom

    cyprusrom Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Turn the caps off.

    Hmm...I was gonna suggest the compatibility settings, but for whatever reason I don't have the XP compatibility option.

    Nero 8 should work with Vista. I am surprised about how many people get a bloated software like Nero, and then use only 1% of its applications ...the burning engine. What is the point of having Nero just for that if you can instead use the free and better ImgBurn? If you get the big monster, might as well put it to work.
     
  9. catfreak

    catfreak Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    2,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Wolfboy . . I recommend that you read the rules!!

    One rule is that you are not allowed to use all caps.

    This annoys the beejeebers out of people and is a pain in the posterior to read.

    Turn your darn cap lock off NOW!!
     
  10. Deadrum33

    Deadrum33 Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Like I said CyprusRom, I'm not setting at a Vista computer so if I'm passing bad information around please let me know. People on this and other websites have used this as a fix along with making sure you have administrator settings (non limited account) when these problems arise. I havent had problems running programs off my wifes laptop (Vista Home Premium) but havent installed all the audio/video proggies that have been mentioned here.
     
  11. WOLFBOY58

    WOLFBOY58 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Sorry they are off now, in the campatability box, I had tried setting to windows xp, but with no effect, I'll think between the imageburn and the nero are conflicting going to try removal of both and reinstall. Keeping fingers crossed.
     
  12. cyprusrom

    cyprusrom Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    @Deadrum33
    I was mistaking, I am running XP, so it makes sense that it does not have the run in "XP Compatibility mode"? Probably it does if you're running the software in Vista.

    I am confused now, how does ImageBurn/Nero conflict ? What happens?
    Did you try to use Recode and forget DVD Shrink?
     
  13. WOLFBOY58

    WOLFBOY58 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    No I didn't forget just only wants to use nero even after running as administrator and changing program defaults, just removed both and will retry
     
  14. WOLFBOY58

    WOLFBOY58 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Tried with imgbrn works ok but think going back to old pc with xp is the real answer
     
  15. 7thsinger

    7thsinger Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3,605
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    48
    I still prefer XP to Vista, for a variety of reasons. My laptop still has Vista on it, for now, and it worked to just run in compatability mode. But, i normally stick with ImgBurn and have yet to try Nero 8 on it.

    Glad ImgBurn worked for you.
     
  16. Dubu

    Dubu Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have yet to have a problem with Shrink in Vista, once I started encoding as an .iso file and burning with ImgBurn. No special settings or anything, I just loaded Shrink and ImgBurn and started using them straight away. I do use DVDFab HD Decrypter and FixVTS first though, then Shrink and ImgBurn. I have yet to have a disc I can't back up, although I'm not on the cutting edge with the latest and greatest releases, too. Good luck.
     
  17. varnull

    varnull Guest

    Nobody ever seems to mention this isn't just a vista issue.. The burning engine in shrink (depends on decrypter) seems to be broken. imgburn solves this, but now the vista drm enabled versions are trickling aut.. and it's grim people.
     
  18. seagrave

    seagrave Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Vista sucks for any number of reasons... but incompatibility with Shrink is not one of them. However there are problems with Nero8. So since Shrink depends on Nero, be mindful of what version you have. I went back to Nero7 and have had NO problems with Shrink.
     
  19. cyprusrom

    cyprusrom Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    There might be problems with Nero 8, but are not related to DVD Shrink.Shrink's dependence on Nero is a misconception perpetuated by people that buy a bloated software like Nero, and have no clue how to use it whatsoever.
    You want to use DVD Shrink, use ImgBurn or DVD Decrypter. If you have Nero , and want to use it, use Nero Recode, why do you need DVD Shrink?!!
     
  20. BobOso

    BobOso Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have been using DVD shrink 3.2 with Vista Home Premium for almost 6 months with no problems. I am also using RipIt4me and DVD Decreptor. No issues their either.
     

Share This Page