1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

dvd shrink audio files

Discussion in 'DVD±R for advanced users' started by Xspeed, Feb 16, 2004.

  1. Xspeed

    Xspeed Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    How can I tell which ones I need? When I use the preview option I still hear the audio even when I de-select all of the options.
     
  2. Discmania

    Discmania Active member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,343
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    You only need to select one audio stream (unless you want them all but this takes up much more space and hence more compression). Ussually this is selected for you by default. Unless you have surround sound audio the simple stereo option is all you need.
     
  3. Xspeed

    Xspeed Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks,
    What about when there are multiples.
    A dvd I am doing now has

    AC3 2.ch english 111mb
    AC3 5.1ch english 15mb
    AC3 5.1ch english 8mb
    AC3 5.1ch english 8mb
    AC3 5.1ch english 8mb

    subpicture
    english .03mb
    french .03mb

    Also I do have surround on one tv.
    If I use only AC3 5.1 will it still play the audio tracks on my other tv without surround?
     
  4. Discmania

    Discmania Active member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,343
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    The AC3 2ch.english is the stereo channel and normally the only one you need (the others are all 5.1 surround sound). You also do not need any subpictures (subtitles) unless your first language is not english or are hard of hearing.
     
  5. Xspeed

    Xspeed Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I understand what you are saying, but I need the 5.1 for my surround sound. Thats one of the biggest reasons to watch a dvd in the first place in my opinion. So when there are 4 different 5.1 listed, how do I know which to keep, and will it still play on a regular tv without the 2ch. English tracks?
     
  6. Slofire

    Slofire Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    yes you will be able to play it on a tv without a surround sound receiver, unless it is DTS, then you wont.

    Some of those 5.1 could very well be for extras


    Just select the Tab that says main movie or something and then select the audio you want their. After, go to the extras and menus and either turn the compression right down, because who cares about those and chose no audio source for both the menus and the extras, that saves a lot of space. Or simply, rencode the DVD with Shrink and chose the movie file, drag it over, and then you will once again get the audio selection.
     
  7. Discmania

    Discmania Active member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,343
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    You select the first option for 5.1 surround which is for 15mb (not the 2ch one)and cancel the rest. With this option you will still be able to view the movie on a regular TV/player also.
     
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2004
  8. Oriphus

    Oriphus Senior member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    6,011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    I have never heard a movie 5.1 channel sound being 15MB?? Its usually around a few hundred MB
     
  9. Xspeed

    Xspeed Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks to all for the info!
     
  10. Slofire

    Slofire Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    maybe teh 15mb 5.1 was a short extra clip......or it was 2.1 and typed wrong....but ya that sounds very wrong. I just love the fact that 5.1 is like 200MB and then DTS is 650 :/ un compressed audio = lost quality, but i use it religiously when its there
     
  11. mrbass

    mrbass Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I had something weird like this occur. Basically it did a quick analysis but the audio sizes were way undersized. Closed out and opened it again and this time it went fine and the 5.1 audio was around 300MB or whatever. Maybe it was a fluke or some other program was interferring or what not.
     
  12. Oriphus

    Oriphus Senior member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    6,011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Isnt DTS a compressed format anyway?
    LPCM is raw, but i believe DTS is compressed.
    Maybe someone can correct me...
     
  13. vurbal

    vurbal Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2002
    Messages:
    3,102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    No, you're right. DTS is compressed. Just less compressed than AC3.
     
  14. Oriphus

    Oriphus Senior member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    6,011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Yeah, thats what i was thinking. Thought id maybe gone nuts there or something ;-)
     
  15. vurbal

    vurbal Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2002
    Messages:
    3,102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Well I didn't say you weren't nuts. ;-)
     
  16. Rotary

    Rotary Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    well howdy doody!

    not been on much but back now!

    hi thee oriphus! long time no post m8!
     
  17. Oriphus

    Oriphus Senior member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    6,011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Hey Rotary, Hows things mate. Im posting a good bit these past few days. Cant play soccer cuz i did my ankle in and its strapped up for about another week so i may as well while i back up some movies ;-)
     
  18. Rotary

    Rotary Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    hi all

    yes to tell the truth i dont come here much since the new look server! due to this site is the only one on the net that the pages load dead sloooooooooowwwwww!

    i dont know why? it does me haed in so i stayed clear!!

    its taking ages now to load from any link on this site???

    also i done me back in! i need physio, i hope its some swedish dame with hairy chest! urrrrrh! cant wait? i'm on 2 lots tablets ibuprophen and some other faul tasting stuff.

    but i just popped in [despite this dam annoying slow load] to se if anything new is a bout? i see pioneer is up to dvr7 now +- 8x for both?

    live long and prosper!
     
  19. Oriphus

    Oriphus Senior member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    6,011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Yeah, im using the Pioneer DVR107, its a sweet peace of kit alright. 6-7mins a DVD normally. I had physio on a torn hamstring for around 3-4months, and was getting some on my weak ankle, but its gone again.
     

Share This Page