1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVD Shrink: can you burn from DVD straight to DVD?

Discussion in 'DVD Shrink forum' started by Rab!, Dec 19, 2004.

1. Rab!

Rab! Member

Hi all, I'm new to DVD burning and ripping, encoding etc and I've read up what I can, but a question I have that I believe to be left unanswered is -
    Can you backup a DVD straight to another DVD, (both DL and normal DVDs) without needing to back it all up onto HD inbetween?
    My problem is that i only have a 20Gb HD and about 2Gb space left on it, so ripping entire DVDs to the PC would involve deleting quite a bit from it!
    If so, could someone point to a guide, as I've seen people mention DVD Shrink (and Decrypter) reading and writing, but I've no clue how to do the above if it is managable!
    Do they always require ripping to HD to remove copyrighting to play a backup?!
    Thanks alot all,
    Rab!

2. Rab!

Rab! Member

Apologies for double tapping post :(

Last edited: Dec 19, 2004
  3. GrandpaBW

GrandpaBW Active member

You need to get a larger hard drive. No matter what program you use to go from DVD to DVD, there will always be temp files written to your hard drive, in the process.

4. Rab!

Rab! Member

Oh, not so good! How much space would i require at a time for DVD burning, the values stated, ie 4and a bit or almost 8 GB? or does it need a couple of GB to burn and keep rewriting those temp files on the PC?
    sorry for my cluelessness
    thanks.

5. Car.Mike

Car.Mike Active member

Rab! ,