1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVD Shrink Cannot Start In Server 2003 x86 DEP Enabled

Discussion in 'DVD Shrink forum' started by NuckNFuts, Feb 11, 2007.

1. NuckNFuts

NuckNFuts Regular member

Hi folks, I'm new to this froum so I hope to learn a lot from you guys and put it to good use. Is anybody using DVD Shrink v3.2.15 under Server 2003 R2 Enterprise x86? With DEP enabled, and exceptions added, DVD Shrink cannot start. No message, no attempt, just no responce. It runs fine in x64 version with exceptions added. Any feedback is welcome.

2. syxguns

syxguns Active member

Well, this could be a number of reasons. One DVD Shrink has not been updated and will not be updated again. It is a great program that can still be used in conjunction with other programs to get the job done.

Now DVD Shrink is compatible with 98/XP/2000 and many have got fixes for it to work with Linux. So one case for the problem could be that the program is not capable of working with 2003 Server. I do not think that your Data Execution Prevention (DEP) has anything to do with it. This Execution Prevention is also available for XP SP2. However, the fact that you are running x86 may have something to do with it as well.

I am not sure if DVD Shrink is an 16 bit program or 32 bit program, but if your x86 does not read or recognize 16 bit then that could be the primary factor.

Just as a heads up. DVD Shrink 3.2.15 is a free program. People are advertising it as new. It is not a new program, and if you paid for it you got ripped off.

3. NuckNFuts

NuckNFuts Regular member