1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

dvd shrink criterion error

Discussion in 'DVD Shrink forum' started by dragon411, May 31, 2007.

  1. dragon411

    dragon411 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I am trying to back up a disc with a criterion label. I keep getting a green screen during the back up process that ultimately cancels out after a few minutes with an error message. I have tried DVDFAB, CloneDVD, and numerous other programs that I have. I either get a data unreadable error or a green screen. I did return my copy to the store for a new one and it still is the same. The original plays fine in the player but I cannot make a back up. I even tried to reauthor using Shrink to no avail.
     
  2. dialysis1

    dialysis1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    What are the numerous other programs? Did you try DVDFab HD Decrypter?
    What is the name of the movie?
     
  3. dvdchick

    dvdchick Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    yea what is the name of the movie? that will tell if anyone else backup this one....
     
  4. 300bowler

    300bowler Regular member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    What is that?
     
  5. Car.Mike

    Car.Mike Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Messages:
    3,787
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66
  6. 300bowler

    300bowler Regular member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    thanks car.mike,
    i guess the label part threw me off.
     
  7. dragon411

    dragon411 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    It is Spartacus the Criterion collection edition. Yes, I tried DVDFAB HD. I tried CLone DVD. I even tried DVD Platinum X. I attempted to reauthor using shrink but the green screen remained. I could not set the start and end points. Each program would work for a couple seconds to a couple minutes and then would error out. THis is the second copy I purchased.
     
  8. 56delray

    56delray Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    You could try the hard way around. Link
     
  9. dragon411

    dragon411 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I followed your link. I read it over and I understood it for the most part though I have not ever used FIXit. I will have to take a little time to try this. Thank you.
     
  10. 56delray

    56delray Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    All I needed was IFOedit, Shrink and Decrypter.
    You might try just one chapter to see if it works
    or if you have a bad DVD.
    And just because you changed DVDd does not mean you have a good one..
    Maybe they are all bad?
     
  11. dragon411

    dragon411 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have tried to copy this now for the last few days but am still unsuccessful. I cannot get past Fixit. I have followed the guide but shrink still doesnt recognize the file after I have used Fixit. I am trying several different ways but have not been successful. Still trying. I had IFOedit ask me if I wanted capitalize my file names. I did just to get the task completed. Still working on this though....
     
  12. 56delray

    56delray Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Forget Fixit I have never used it.

    Ok, I a sorry. I did not realize that the guide is no longer available.
    No big deal. It was hard to follow anyway.
    The way it always worked for me was to use IFO Edit to find the bad cells.

    1. Open the DVD with IFO Edit and look for the chapter cells that have zero time listed.
    These fakes stop Shrink...

    2. Use Decrypter in IFO mode to rip the DVD to a hard drive folder.
    Uncheck any of the cells that were bad.

    Now use IFO Edit again.
    3. Open the folder and hit VOB extras.
    Check off what you what and go.
    When all of this is done (there may be a few steps I left out here)

    4. Hit Get VTS sectors.
    This fixes the ifo file for all the changes that were just made to the DVD structure.

    I have not use this for a while and I am not at home to make a test run.
    So if it does not work right let me know.

    P.S. I only did the main movie only.
    It may be more involved for the whole DVD.

    *edit


    This link may be better.
     
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2007
  13. johnl123

    johnl123 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Messages:
    2,421
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    dragon411

    Try using AnyDVD with DVD shrink, AnyDVD is a little app that runs in the backround taking care of the copy protection while shrink does it's thing. Install AnyDVD and then using shrink as you normally would to create a backup. AnyDVD comes with a 21 day free trial before you have to buy it, it's worth buying.

    anydvd
    http://www.slysoft.com/en/anydvd.html

    Another very good free alternative is ripit4me, it's nolonger supported, but may work for you. It uses DVD shrink, DVD decrypter and FixVTS in a one click mode to create a backup. Install it and use the "one click" mode.

    Ripit4me
    http://download.softpedia.com/dl/29.../100044816/software/cd_dvd_tools/RipIt4Me.zip

    Or here: http://www.toggle.com/tag/ripit4me.htm
     
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2007
  14. dragon411

    dragon411 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks for the info 56delray. I will try it again. And John123, I have Anydvd running and it doesnt work. CloneDVD did not work either trying to back up this movie. I have ripit but have never tried it. I will give it a try. Thanks.
     
  15. johnl123

    johnl123 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Messages:
    2,421
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    I didn't see any mention of anydvd being used, but make sure you're using the current version of AnyDVD... AnyDVD & AnyDVD HD 6.1.6.0

    http://www.slysoft.com/en/download.html


    Give ripit4me a shot, it has come thru when anydvd and other apps didn't.
     
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2007
  16. 56delray

    56delray Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I never used AnyDVD,
    but I saw at Doom9 someone mentioned settings for Decrypter when using AnyDVD.

    edit

    Here's a link to that Doom9 thread.

    Have you tried just ripping it to a folder yet.? If so, what erorr do you get.
     
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2007
  17. Berryone

    Berryone Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,471
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
  18. thorflea

    thorflea Guest

    AnyDVD will RIP / Repair
     
  19. dragon411

    dragon411 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    56delray, after I rip the movie using DVD Decryptor, I open IFOedit and fix vts, like the guide says. However, I get an error message, this message says, IFO endsector does not match the file size. This hangs me up all the way through. What does this mean? Thanks. I have checked the cells and cell number one in chapter one of the movie seems to be the bad cell. I uncheck this and rip the movie. Then IFOedit asks me if I want to capitalize the files and I say yes. While fixing the VTS sectors, I get the error message
     
  20. 56delray

    56delray Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Sorry I think I left a step out.
    You have to use the Correct IFO's function after ripping.
    Save the corrected IFO.
    Then hit VOB extras.
    Then Get VTS sectors.
    Look here.
    Sorry, like I said it been awhile since I used this method.
     

Share This Page