1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVD Shrink encountered a error: invalid data

Discussion in 'DVD Shrink forum' started by Jerome283, Mar 31, 2007.

1. Jerome283

Jerome283 Member

I am trying to backup a DVD movie by Dreamworks. I used DVD Decrypter 3.5.4.0 to rip it to my HD. It told me that it might be inserting "dummy sectors" and inserted 2 of them.

I then used DVD Shrink 3.2.0.15 to try and re-author the resulting files (just want the movie) but on selecting the file directory I immediately got the following error:

DVD Shrink encountered a error: invalid data in file vts_08-1.vob

What do I do know? Why can't DVD Shrink handle these files. I am a novice at this and have never encountered this problem before. Any suggestions (newbie level) on how to proceed appreciated.

Thanks.

2. FFsp42

FFsp42 Regular member

Try ripping to your HDD using DVDFab Decrypter. Find it here: http://www.dvdidle.com/free.htm It's updated regularly and should handle the newer encryptions.
    Another alternative is to use AnyDVD. While not free, works good with new encryptions and runs in the background, which will allow you to use DVD Shrink for all your needs, if you wish. Find it here: http://www.slysoft.com Comes with a 21 day free trial before you buy.
    Lastly, try RipIt4Me. Up until lately (today) would give worry free backups using FixVTS, DVD Decrypter, and DVD Shrink and is totally free. Just a note though, today the website is down and there is fear that it may have been shut down. It was regularly updated and handled every encryption thrown at it. It may be worth a try if you can find it to download it, should it get back up and running.

Edit: You can find RI4M here: http://www.softpedia.com/progDownload/RipIt4Me-Download-44816.html

Last edited: Mar 31, 2007
  3. johnl123

johnl123 Regular member