1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVD Shrink wont work with Vista Home Premium

Discussion in 'DVD Shrink forum' started by loudog34, Dec 1, 2007.

  1. loudog34

    loudog34 Guest

    Have been using DVD Shrink for years,without problems on WindowsXP.
    Use it to make back up copies of dvd collection and dvd copies for my laserdisc collection. Since I got my new computer with Vista Home Premium, DVD Shrink does not recognise prerecorded disc when inserted into recorder. Have several drives but can get only one,E/to appear on DVD Shrink. Tried to read prerecorded discs on latest version of DVD FAB HD Decrypter and get same non results,will not acknowledge disc in drive. Am thoroughly confused. Reinstalled DVD Shrink a dozen times with no results,same problem. Had been using ISO mode with excellent results. All this was fine with XP
     
  2. ZoSoIV

    ZoSoIV Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    here this may help


    right-clicked on the Shrink icon and open the properties, then compatibility, privilage level and set it for Vista

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2007
  3. philly37

    philly37 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    What are your specs on your computer? Mines is home built and i went from xp to Vista Home Prem., and havent had any problems
     
  4. diane7

    diane7 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks for the Tip using dvd shrink since 2005 and didnt know about the properties
    also now on vista no problems yet but now I am prepared
    Thanks diane
     
  5. MaxPayne1

    MaxPayne1 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ZoSoIV,

    I have had the same problem with DVD shrink and I checked compatibility properties on the icon and there is no Vista listed in the drop down menu?. Do I just check the box with XP service pack 2 to run in?.

    I have Vista Home Premium and DVD Shrink 3.2

    Thanks
     
  6. laddyboy

    laddyboy Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    4,188
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    By "setting it for Vista" I'm pretty sure ZoSoIV is indicating to check the "Run this program as an administrator" box.

    I will note that Shrink and Decrypter both work for me under Vista Premium without having to do this. I do not know what causes some installations to be different. I have multiple physical drives and some virtual drives and all are recognized by Shrink and DVD Decrypter.
     
  7. ZoSoIV

    ZoSoIV Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    yes
     

Share This Page