1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVD to DVD copying is fine....but takes up HD space..why?

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by methman, Aug 26, 2004.

1. methman

methman Member

Hi, I am a total newbie on this website; so I hope some of the more experienced can help me on my problem.

I am using 1Click DVD Copy, and I've backed-up some of my movies. Everything works out and copies fine w/no problems. The only thing I'm confused about; is why 3-4 gigs of space is still being taken up on my HD?! I know some ppl. want to save it to their HD, but I don't want to. That's too much space being taken up on my computer.

Why does it take up so much space on my HD? How do I free the space up on my computer. Please help me, anyone!!! Thanks in advance.

2. bruwery

bruwery Member

Hi.

I'm new to all of this as well, so I'm not familiar with the program you're using, but to my knowledge all such DVD backup programs write files to the hard drive. It's a necessary intermediate step as data is analyzyed/encoded. PC's simply don't have enough active memory to store an entire DVD in RAM.

While you can't prevent creation of the files, you can delete the files after the DVD is copied. There should be an indicator when you run the program that specifies where it's saving the files.

If not, you can find them by searching in Windows Explorer. Look for anything with a .vob, .bup, or .ifo extension.

Hope this helps.

3. geddylee1

geddylee1 Member