1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVD to DVD+RW and +R problems

Discussion in 'PS2' started by dmoose, Feb 9, 2003.

  1. dmoose

    dmoose Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    OK I just got my new Sony DRU-500a DVD burner. I took one of my DVD games to test it out with (HotShot Golf 3).
    I made an image of the game with Nero, then burnt the game onto a DVD+RW.
    I have a PS2 ver.7
    Magic 2
    Have no problems with normal DVD games or CD's and CD-R's.
    When I put the DVD+RW in I got the red screen of death...
    So for the heck of it I tried a DVD+R.....same thing.
    Man what the heck gives. Has anyone else had any problems with something like this?

    Help.
     
  2. c7015

    c7015 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2003
    Messages:
    863
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    what type of discs are you using beacuse it is stupid but some dont work never by maxell they are crap
     
  3. dmoose

    dmoose Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    TDK for the +RW, and Verbatim for +R. Had no problems in the past with Verbatim CDR's.
    I just found something about NERO on their web site. I was using ver 5.5.10.0 and their web site sadi there is a flaw in this version when trying to burn DVD's. I just updated to 5.5.10.7 and I am going to see if this solved the issue.
     
  4. c7015

    c7015 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2003
    Messages:
    863
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    post back if you find a problem with that version of nero because that is the one that I use too

    havent had a problem so far but it is always good to know
     
  5. Jake2003

    Jake2003 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    ya I've posted a couple messages about this too-I tried dvd+r and dvd+rw with the latset nero 5.5.10.7 and got a red screen-the ones that I used were hp
     
  6. Jake2003

    Jake2003 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    oh yeah-scph-30001 R V5/6
     
  7. Wizkid

    Wizkid Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2002
    Messages:
    1,218
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    I use Platinum DVD+r and DVD+rw and they work fine ! Also used Verbatim and HP.

    Got myself 70+ copied PS2 games sofar...so guys hang in there .. ;-)
     
  8. dmoose

    dmoose Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ya, if I get a chance tonight I am going to take apart my PS2 to check the connections. I played a DVD+RW movie on it, but the game wwould not work. Maybe it is the game, Hotshots 3, anyone else try that one.
     
  9. jr_

    jr_ Guest

    If you getting a Red screen "No PlayStation 2 logo" then I would think your modchip is not working for DVD's
    CD and DVD boots are not the same process.
    Do you have any DVD backups that work, maybe some you didn't burn?
    I am sure it's not the game. I have never had any game that failed to work and I don't think it's the media because you are not even getting past the boot code.


     

Share This Page