1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVDFab HD Stuck at Scanning Media???

Discussion in 'Convert DVD to another format' started by lawtyger, Jan 2, 2008.

  1. lawtyger

    lawtyger Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi,

    I'm currently using DVDFab HD 4.0.3.2. When trying to backup my copy of Entourage Season Three Part I Disk 3, DVDFab HD opens I get the "scanning media please wait..." message and the purple box opens that says "Open DVD source: F:\[Entourage_S3D3]..."

    But then the green status bar just runs, and runs, and runs, etc. When I give up and hit "cancel" the program freezes and I end up having to control/alt/delete to shut the program down.

    The only other time DVDFab HD did this was with a couple of Deadwood DVD's a month ago. Before that, with earlier versions of DVDFab HD I NEVER had a single problem. Fortunately, I just opened DVD Decrypter and was able to rip the Entourage disc (and did the same successfully with Deadwood before) and move forward with Shrink like normal.

    If I stick another movie DVD in, or even stick in the backup copy of Entourage, DVDFab HD works perfectly like usual.

    Does anybody have an idea why this is happening now?
     
  2. dialysis1

    dialysis1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    You need to update.
     
  3. lawtyger

    lawtyger Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    It was my understanding that 4.0.3.2 was the most recent non-beta version.

    Update to what? 4.0.3.6 Beta?
     
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2008
  4. 7thsinger

    7thsinger Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3,605
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    48
  5. creaky

    creaky Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Messages:
    31,683
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Try toggling the settings for Pathplayer, in Fab's options..
     
  6. ccdoster

    ccdoster Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks I was having the same problem with Disk 1 (all others opened fine). I disabled Pathplayer and it opened no problem.
     
  7. loubal10

    loubal10 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    What is Pathplayer? And what will disabling do? Since, the default setting has it on, will disabling it negatively effect the program?

    Thanks,
    Lou
     
  8. 7thsinger

    7thsinger Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3,605
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Pathplayer is an option in DvdFab that basically acts like a real DVD player. It follows everything written to the pressed DVD in a path, checking on everything accesible like you would do with a remote. So, when it's done the program recognizes everything a DVD player will actually read. DvdFab will NOT read the encryption when running in pathplayer.

     
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2008
  9. iluvendo

    iluvendo Active member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    3,312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    dvdfabhd 4055 is out
     
  10. loubal10

    loubal10 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    "DvdFab will NOT read the encryption when running in pathplayer."
    Thanks for your answer, but what does that mean?
     
  11. iluvendo

    iluvendo Active member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    3,312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    It means the the program is trying not to get faked out by the advanced encryption and deadends on the disc that only a pc can see, but a stand alone dvd player cannot.
     
  12. 7thsinger

    7thsinger Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3,605
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    48
    iluvendo beats me again! :)
     
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2008
  13. iluvendo

    iluvendo Active member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    3,312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Sorry bro (hehe ) , I sould'nt do that to a senior member. Me bad.
     
  14. loubal10

    loubal10 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    So basically, it should be enabled or the copy may be missing something? If that's the case, then the suggestion made in one of the posts to disable it, made no sense? True??
     
  15. iluvendo

    iluvendo Active member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    3,312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Pathplayer is not always necessary. When dvdfab/hd is engaged and cannot read the disc, then pathplayer engagement is necessary.
     
  16. loubal10

    loubal10 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    So, if unable to read the disc when pathplayer engaged, why would anyone suggest disabling, as based upon your answer, that's precisely when it should be needed. Ergo, if DVD FAB HD is unable to read when pathplayer engaged, disabling pathplayer, even if that allows DVD FAB to read and rip, would result in a poor copy. So in that case time to use another program?
     
  17. iluvendo

    iluvendo Active member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    3,312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    THink so, or wait for a dvdfab update.
     
  18. loubal10

    loubal10 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Does the pay version have the same issues?
     
  19. loubal10

    loubal10 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    What exactly would be the result(s) of disabling Pathplayer, if the program is unable to scan the disc and disabling allows the program to scan? What would the probable result be to the finished product?
     
  20. ccdoster

    ccdoster Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    All I know is when I disabled Pathplayer it then opened up the disk and ripped as normal. I did play on my stand alone player and TV and it worked fine. It's as good as copy as anything else I've ripped.
     
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2008

Share This Page