1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

dvdfab + shrink issues - won't rip properly

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by isaac4130, Jun 1, 2007.

  1. isaac4130

    isaac4130 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hi,
    I'm using the dvdfab HD 3.1.2.6 version, and am having problems backing up a disc of the show "Penn & Teller - Bullsh#t".
    Usually a disc will rip pretty quick for me in dvdfab - say about 15 mins or so.
    This one takes like 3 hours - I've tried it a few times.
    When it finally finishes and try to open the folders in Shrink, it automatically shuts Shrink down. I can open the files in the 're-author' tab, but they look garbled and green - didn't come out at all.
    Nero Recode doesn't like it either, it gets through the analysis stage ok but then fails on the recoding.
    Any ideas why this is happening? I'm running out of ideas!
     
  2. IHoe

    IHoe Senior member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,431
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    there are two things:
    your disk may be dirty or your drive slipped into PIO mode.

    first check your disk.... make sure there are no fingerprints, smudges, scratches, cracks or anything that would inhibit your drive from reading the disk properly! Clean if necessary. Then check if your drive slipped into PIO mode (this would explain the 3 hour ripping process instead of your usual 15mins) here's how: http://my.afterdawn.com/alkohol/blog_entry.cfm/231/dmaissues

    and why DMA reverts back into PIO mode:
    http://winhlp.com/WxDMA.htm

    hope this helps, welcome to Afterdawn.


     
  3. isaac4130

    isaac4130 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hmmn tried both ideas - no luck!
    Still burns super slow on my laptop (which I've been using) - I tried the disc in my desktop and it doesn't even recognize that there's a disc in there... it's not scratched or dirty at all, just won't even show up.
    On my laptop it recognizes it, but still has the burning problems.
    It's all set up with DMA selected.. are there certain types of discs that different drives may not recognize?
    (I have the newest firmware for drives on both my laptop & desktop)
     
  4. isaac4130

    isaac4130 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    OK might have something here - thought I'd open up Windows Media Player to see if I could at least play the disc on my laptop, and it came up with a message saying 'Your drive is currently set to reigon 4. To play this disc set to reigon 1'.
    So I did this, and am now re-ripping the disc, which seems to be going fast again. Not sure if this actually changed anything or not, but you never know...
    Will post regarding whether it ends up being successful or not
     
  5. isaac4130

    isaac4130 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Sweet - that did the trick! Cheers for the help anyway Ihoe!
     
  6. IHoe

    IHoe Senior member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,431
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    I never heard of a drive changing regions before! the only way that I know is if your drive was region free and you put in a disk from another region to play on, that might change the region of your drive to the one that is playing! Unless you changed your drive to a different region by yourself (which I doubt). Live and learn. will have to remember that!
     

Share This Page