1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVD's play on PC but not in standalone DVD Player

Discussion in 'Video playback problems' started by carmur, Mar 25, 2005.

1. carmur

carmur Guest

Hope somebody can help. My LG DV 7711P will play any burned CD-R's (regardess of media type) but will not play any burned DVD -R/DVD+RW. I am using Aurora Video VCD/SVCD/DVD Converter & Creator, I don't think its the program, as it functions quite well and burned DVD's will play on my PC with Power DVD without any problems. The media I am using is TDK and my DVD burner is a Sony DVD RW DRU-510 1.1a. I am fairly new at this burning, thought I was doing OK, but I am out of ideas with this one, and have wasted a lot of DVD-R. Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

2. colw

colw Active member

If they play OK on your computer - try in some different standalones (friends etc).

Standalones often tend to be finicky with the media they will/will not recognise.

El cheapo Chinese standalones often more reliable and tolerant with burnt media.

3. carmur

carmur Guest

Thankyou for your suggestion colw. I think I have found the source of my problem. You know those famous last words "I don't think its the program", well it turns out, it is. I did a lot a reading on these posts and thankyou to bbmayo (where ever and whom ever you are)I was directed to his website, which by the way, its absolutely fantastic for instructions and very useful for any newbie. Anyway I downloaded the 3 programs that he suggested, followed the very easy instruction, every DVD that I have burned plays on my standalone, first time and everytime. I have notified Aurora and they are looking into the possibility of a bug.

4. Delgado69

Delgado69 Member