1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

dvdxcopy question

Discussion in 'Convert DVD to another format' started by huskermar, Mar 26, 2004.

  1. huskermar

    huskermar Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I recently purchased a set of Nebraska football DVD classic games (from a company in Nebraska) and it included 13 dvd's. I could only backup 2 of the 13. When I try the others, and use the advanced tab, it goes thru the I agree part and then nothing happens. Is it the quality of dvd's they used to burn the games? Or could it be my burner? Any help appreciated.
     
  2. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    its probably just a problem with dvdxcopy. try using dvd shrink to rip and nero to burn (if you don't have nero, you can use dvd decrypter).
     
  3. Outcasted

    Outcasted Guest

    Hi Sly_61019,

    I have the same DVD drive that you have. Which firmware is installed for your drive? I ask, because I have firmware 1.30 and I'm having difficulties burning to blank media. Could you please tell me where I can get the latest firmware update for my Pioneer 105 drive?

    As for the blank media, I started off with cheap media, and that worked alright at first. But, somehow that's not working now. I purchased some Maxell DVD-R media, going for quality product, and have the same problem. DVDXCopy Xpress and Platinum will not write to the Maxell blank media. How have the Memorex media been working out for you?

    Any help is much appreaciated.

    Outcasted
     
  4. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    i have the hacked firmware, 1.33 i think. i got it from http://forum.rpc1.org/portal.php it makes the drive region free, and lets you rip faster with the drive. Or the original firmware should be at the pioneer website. Memorex work fine for me, but everyone says they use crappy dye (cmc mag). From what ive heard, ritek g04 are the best you can get.
     
  5. Outcasted

    Outcasted Guest

    Hi Sly_61019,

    Thanks for the quick reply. I visited the Pioneer Web site last night, and found the same firmware number 1.33 that you have. I flashed the firmware and all went well. I have not tried to burn a movie yet, today, but will give it a try shortly.

    Are you able to use the Memorex media that comes on a spindle, or are you stuck using the Memorex media that comes in a box?

    Is "ritek g04" blank media, or a DVD drive?

    Many thanks for your time and help.

    Outcast
     
  6. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    i get memorex on a spindle. ritek is blank media.
     
  7. evoke

    evoke Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2004
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i have just down loaded DVD shrink and DVD Decrypter.Does anyone know if you can use these programs just to copy a DVD movie to the hard drive of the computer.

    i know you can do it with DVDXcopy gold but i think the program is really slow
     
  8. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    both will let you just rip to the harddrive. Shrink would probably be better since you can compress the movie to save harddrive space.
     
  9. Outcasted

    Outcasted Guest

    Hi Sly_61019,

    I purchased the bundled Memorex discs, yesterday. I'll use these discs today, to see if I have any success. I'm having difficulty burning movies with DVD X Copy Platinum/Xpress on my Pioneer DVR-105 drive. The movie will get read, but errors out when the burn process starts. This happens every time with DVD X Copy Platinum/Xpress. But, I am able to use DVD Decrypter, DVD Shrink and NERO, with little to no difficulties. I had problems with DVD Shrink, at first, because the program was trying to burn the discs at 4x. But, if I limited the burn speed to 1x, the burns are successful. I'm puzzled about the inability to burn the discs using DVD X Copy Platinum/Xpress. I figure that it too is trying to burn the discs at maximum speed and that's the issue that causes the burn failures.

    Have you had this same issue? And if so, have you been able to overcome it?

    Again, thanks for you time and help.

    Outcasted
     
  10. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    i have no problems burning at 4x. I don't use dvdxcopy though, in my opinion it is a waste of money. the free programs do the same, if not better, job. What are the specs of your computer?
     
  11. Outcasted

    Outcasted Guest

    Hi Sly_61019,

    MY Specs:
    P4C800 Deluxe motherboard
    Intel, P4, 2.4 Ghz CPU
    2 Gigs PC3200, 400 RAM
    250 Gigabyte, SATA 133, Maxtor Hard drive
    NVidia GeForce 2, MX, DH Pro, Video Card, running NVidia DetonatorXP drivers.
    Creative, Audigy 2, Platinum, sound card.
    Creative, 5.1 Inspire, Surround Sound speakers.
    Pioneer DVD DVR-105 DVD/RW - CD/RW drive
    Best Data v.92 modem
    RF RealDigital, wireless keyboard
    Creative, Optical 3000 mouse
    Hewlett-Packard, Laserjet 4 printer
    Hewlett-Packard, psc 2210, all-in-one machine
    Envision 19", flat panel, monitor

    All firmware(s) and drivers are the latest revisions, except that of the video card.

    Thanks for your continued help.

    Outcasted
     
  12. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    hmm, your pc is definatly good enough. The only question left that i can think of is do you have DMA enabled in the device manager for your burner?
     
  13. Outcasted

    Outcasted Guest

    Hi Sly_61019,

    Yes, I have DMA turned on for the Pioneer drive. The motherboard has three levels of UDMA, which I had not seen before installing this motherboard. I built the system just three months ago. Everything works great, except for this one issue with DVD X Copy Platinum/Xpress.

    I forgot to list my operating system, which is Windows 2000 Pro., Service Pack 4 installed. All Windows updates, patches, and fixes also installed.

    Thanks for your help!

    Outcasted
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 1, 2004

Share This Page