1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVR-104 Playback/Mounting Issues with TDK/Memorex Media

Discussion in 'Video problems with Mac' started by wlfman, Aug 12, 2004.

1. wlfman

wlfman Member

Let me preface this by saying I searched the forums and the guides before I posted. This thread (http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/87282) does touch on my issue, but I couldn't reply because I'm a newbie and it was older than 60 days. Anyway...

Specs:
    -iMac 15" Flat-Panel original, running 10.3.5
    -Pioneer DVR-104 DVD-RW drive, firmware A227
    -JVC XV-THA10 DVD player (part of the TH-A10 home theater system)
    -Sony DVP-NS725P standalone DVD player

Issue:
    Twice I burned a VIDEO_TS folder (.DS_Store files removed) onto Memorex DVD-R 4x media at 1x. The first time, I used Toast 6.0.3 (didn't know about 6.0.7 at the time) with the DVD-ROM (UDF) setting. It burned fine, but it found an error on the verify. The second time, I used Dragon Burn 4.0.22. It burned fine with no errors. The JVC DVD player didn't recognize either disk. The Sony read both disks fine (though the error on the Toast-burned disk froze the screen at one chapter but played every other chapter fine).

The weird thing is that neither disk mounted on the iMac (as the thread above said). Reading around, I thought it might have been bad media so I bought some TDK 2x DVD-Rs. This time, I burned at 2x with Dragon Burn and no error. And it mounted on the iMac! But the Sony didn't read it, coming back with a "disk is dirty" error message. Even more peculiar, the JVC read the disk, but with some hesitation. (Note: In the manual, the JVC says it won't read DVD-R or -RW. So it's not a big surprise, but it should have played in the Sony.)