1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ELF FILES with Slim Ps2 and Action replay

Discussion in 'PS2 - Software boot discussion' started by Z3rordi3, May 8, 2007.

  1. Z3rordi3

    Z3rordi3 Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hey everyone! I appreciate all the work you guys did for now on with these ps2 loading and booting. I was reading a whole lot of forums threads recently and Iv figured out how to play burned games on my slim ps2 via Action Replay ( Exploit CD with CDLOADER.ELF in it, then put a High TOC game and then swap and load). I don't like that technique very much because its long and sometime games don't load. I was asking myself if there was a way to load HDLOADER.ELF with my USB Pendrive because I want to install an Exteral Harddrive.

    Thanks for your help! I appreciate very much!
    *New Member of afterdawn*
     
  2. ovrfiendx

    ovrfiendx Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    you will need USBAdvance for an external HDD, but it's compatability with games sux. But yes it should work just place the elf on you pendrive.
     
  3. Z3rordi3

    Z3rordi3 Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Is there a way you can show me how to put these elf in the pendrive correctly? Do I just copy it onto the pendrive normally with my Pc? 'Cause all the elf files I tried didnt work...no media found on pendrive...Can you explain how to load them?
     
  4. ovrfiendx

    ovrfiendx Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Why not just make a new exploit cd with usbadvance.elf in it. If your using ulaunch.elf as the loader on the exploit cd you can just assign 1 button to cdloader.elf and another to usbadvance.elf and eliminate the usb pendrive all together.
     
  5. Z3rordi3

    Z3rordi3 Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Is there any tutorial for making that Usbadvance exploit CD? Please send a link for a tutorial or just explain to me. I got a CDLOADER burned correctly on a Cd and it loads through AR MAX in Media Player but I dont remember where I'v found the tutorial...I just want less swaping, more *backup-ing* via Pc or directly from the Ps2. THANKS!
     
  6. ovrfiendx

    ovrfiendx Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Try this thread. http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/2/337567
    Look at the 5th post it tells about usbadvance.elf. The first page has the whole guide.

    Here is where you can find Exploit Compiler 5.0
    http://sksapps.com/index.php?page=mis.html
    Look about 3/4 of the way down the page.

    Just add both elf files to your exploit. Make sure you choose ulaunch as your loader, then under the extras tab assign your 2 elfs to different buttons. Then when your exploit cd is loaded just choose which app to run by it's corresponding button.
     
    Last edited: May 10, 2007
  7. ovrfiendx

    ovrfiendx Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Just to let you know. I tried putting USBadvanced.elf on the pen drive and all went well.

    1) Install the Max Media Creator on your computer.
    2) Run Max Media Creator
    3) Plug in your usb stick to computer
    4) In Output Media select USB Drives then your drive (e:,f:,etc.)
    5) then click Add File Select where ever you stored USBadvance.elf
    then the elf file.
    6) click Create
    7) When done insert USB stick and your USB HDD into PS2 .
    8) Put in ARMAX disc
    9) Turn on PS2
    10) Select Media Player
    11) When in Media Player use the fast forward and rewind button to
    select the Elf file you wish to run. (cdvdloader or USBadvance)
    then hit play to launch the selected elf.

    USBadvance loaded, but I did not have an external HDD hooked up although it did see my pen drive and said no games installed. Also gave me the option to format. So it should work just fine or you can try the whole method I posted links to before. BUT THIS WILL WORK.

    Also just for knowledge CogSwap doesn't like to run from USB so if you wish to try that elf you have to get it to your mem card.

    Let me know if I can help more.
     
    Last edited: May 10, 2007
  8. fbmrider

    fbmrider Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    See? I thought something like that would have been possibly (and easy nonetheless), but I cannot do two things...get the Exploit CD to even boot (I've tried different media, going to get some sony CD-Rs today), or get USB Advance to boot through MAX Media Player. Is there something special you have to do to the pendrive? It recognizes the drive, but when I launch USB Advance, it just hangs at a black screen.
     
  9. ovrfiendx

    ovrfiendx Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Did you use Max Media Creator to transfer your file? That's how I did it and all went fine. You may have a corrupt elf file. As for the Exploit CD, how are you trying to boot it.
     
    Last edited: May 16, 2007
  10. fbmrider

    fbmrider Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    OK, I've tried several different ways to go about this.
    FYI(Slim PS2, no modchip, running through AR MAX EVO)

    First, I made the Exploit CD in Independence Compiler, set Installer to 'No', uLaunch is set, and all that crap. Burned a copy of it in Nero to a Sony brand CD-R. I have CDLOADER on my pendrive and it boots fine. I get to the CDLOADER screen, and I follow the instructions from one of the other threads on how to use a USB HD to boot backups (just swap in the Exploit CD). Instead of anything loading, all I get is Media: Invalid Disc at the bottom.

    Secondly, I just tried burning an ISO of my edited game (GH2, trying to add custom songs). Booted CDLOADER from my pendrive in Media Player. So I did the cardboard (take off of the straw and tissue mod) mod, and tried to boot my copy using the 'EA Method' whatever that means. Still gave me Invalid Disc error.

    Thirdly, I've been trying to just straight boot USB Advance or uLaunchELF through AR Media Player, but it just hangs at a black screen (the text that was there when media player was running is gone, it's just a completely black screen).

    Is there some step I'm screwing up and just not noticing? Or is this just not possible for some reason?

    And yes, I am using MAX Media Creator for the pendrive files.
     
    Last edited: May 16, 2007
  11. ovrfiendx

    ovrfiendx Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Yes the usbadvance/ar max thing is possible or I would not have said I did it. Maybe you have a corrupt file or something cause it was real easy. All I did was transfered the elf to usb stick via max media creator. Loaded ar max evo in PS2, went to media player and loaded usbadvance.elf and it booted, but as I had no HDD hooked up all it found was the usb stick.
     
  12. fbmrider

    fbmrider Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Since you got it work, do you think you could send me your copy of USB Advance for thumbdrives? Or tell me where you got it from, because I've picked up copies from a shitload of places and none of them seem to be working. I mean, should I have a reformat the thumbdrive again or something? That still wouldn't explain why it will boot CDLOADER and not USB Advance. Anyway, think you can hook me up?
     
  13. ovrfiendx

    ovrfiendx Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Here you go. http://rapidshare.com/files/31745032/USBADVN.ELF.html

    Maybe that's not your problem. I don't know. All I did was what I said and it worked. I did it on my neighbors machine just to see if I could and that's as far as I took it. I don't have constant access to a slim PS2. Sorry if this doesn't help, I tried.
     
  14. fbmrider

    fbmrider Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    God this is starting to get on my nerves.
    I did actually manage to boot it once. I didn't have my HD hooked up at when I did it, and when I hooked it up, it wouldn't detect (guessing it needs to be connected before booting USB Advance). Anyway, I reset to do it again, and it doesn't boot. When I got it to boot that one time, I thought I pushed a combination of Start and X to get to work, but I tried holding x after I pushed the play button, tried holding start, just hitting both of them...I don't understand why it's doing this, it's like it's only booting when it wants to. Also, when I successfully booted it, I had another thumbdrive in my PS2 that didn't have any files on it (don't even think it was formatted for AR MAX). I did some switching around before I tried to boot it, (I also thought the little Datel logo coming up may have something to do with it, but apparently not) and I tried doing the same thing again and again. I'm so confused..I thought it might be the drive itself, but then, why the hell would it boot CDLOADER?
    Oh well, I guess I gotta go back a try a bunch more, see what I can come up with. Is there a certain button I'm supposed to press after I push the play button in MAX Media Player?

    One other thing, the USB HD I have has a few different partitions on it..will USB Advance detect all of the different partitions or do I need to just have one giant partition?
     
    Last edited: May 17, 2007
  15. ovrfiendx

    ovrfiendx Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    No. Acertain button does not need pressed.

    As for the HDD the multiple pertitions may be the cause. I dunno, but I have only used HDD's with one large PS2 Partition.
     

Share This Page