1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Encoding and decoding Xvid and Divx files.

Discussion in 'Video playback problems' started by xPJCx, Nov 7, 2003.

1. xPJCx

xPJCx Guest

Hello I am new to Xvid and Divx codecs. I have read some of the stuff on here but a lot of it goes right over my head.

I have some movies which I would like on VCD. I have Divx total pack which seems to be ok however, I can't get VirtualDub to see the Xvid files.

All I want to do is make some VCD's but I at a bit of a loss and some help would be great.

I have Divx total pack.
    VirtualDub.
    TMPGEnc.

HELP!

Thanks.

Last edited by a moderator: Nov 7, 2003
  2. powerdup

powerdup Regular member

3. xPJCx

xPJCx Guest

Thanks for your help, good of you to answer. I'll let you know how I get on.

Cheers :)

4. xPJCx

xPJCx Guest

Hello mate well I did what you said and I can load the video and audio file into TMPGEnc but when I go to start, it locks up. I went into Environmental settings and then VFAPI plug-in and changed the DirectShow Multimedia File Reader up to 1 and then 2 but it still locked up.

I have checked about a bit and I can't find any help on it. Could you please help me out?

Oh, it works fine with Divx files but not with Xvid files.

Sorry to sound like a Ding Dong.

Thanks

Last edited by a moderator: Nov 9, 2003
  5. powerdup

powerdup Regular member

What kind of audio file does the xvid movie have?

Download Virtualdub.

Load the xvid that freezes up there and if a message pops up about having a vbr audio stream, click no and try this:

1. Click Video - Direct Stream Copy.
    2. Click Audio - Full Processing Mode.
    3. Click Audio - Compression. Select <No compression (PCM)> and click ok!
    4. Click File - Save AVI and try it with TMPGEnc.

6. xPJCx

xPJCx Guest