1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Encoding movies from DV tape to MPEG2 jaggies!

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by kdahlin, Jan 4, 2004.

1. kdahlin

kdahlin Guest

From my DV camera through firewire to Pinnacle Studio 7. This is my first foray into DVD authoring. I can edit the movies just fine. Still learning a bit. My question has to do with encoding for DVD. Video looks great as DV or avi and even .wmf. However, when I try to encode in mpeg2 for DVD I get motion jaggies. See screen shot for example.
    [​IMG]
    Is there something I need to know about MPG encoding to fiz the quality to be more like uncompressed video?

2. Alerad

Alerad Member

hi kdahlin

im new to dvd and this forum but i recognise your problem from dv editing.
    the field order seems to be the wrong way around!

when you use the software to convert from dv to mpeg2 change the field order and see if thats it.

hope thats the problem (easy to fix), gl :)

3. malum

malum Regular member

DV is bottom field first, so set the re-encode to that and the mpeg2 should be fine (I don't use Pinacle Studio so I can't say where the setting might be)

4. kdahlin

kdahlin Guest

Thanks I will look into that. Not sure that pinnacle lets you mess with many settings like that.

Also, you should know that the jaggies only occur when there is motion ocurring in the video. If the subject is relatively still picture is fine. When they turn their head the edges get jaggy.

5. malum

malum Regular member

Yep that sounds like wrong field order, check the help file for "field order" or "bottom field first"

Most video editing suites put BFF by default as they are for DV users, which is a biy puzzling.

6. gilesme

gilesme Guest

I have just burnt my first ever DVD-R too using Pinnacle Studio 7, and it too is "jaggy" when panning around, but OK when still. I thought perhaps I was doing something wrong ?