1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Encoding Problems

Discussion in 'DivX / XviD' started by 8chaos, Feb 21, 2007.

1. 8chaos

8chaos Regular member

To start off, I am trying to take a DVD movie and convert it to a playable file on my harddrive.

I started out by using DVDShrink to get the VOB and IFO files. Then I used AutoGK with my IFO file to convert it to an AVI file. Problem is that there is no sound. With AutoGK, my file had 6ch audio enabled. What did I do wrong?. Do I need to use a different input file format? If so, what programs are best? I know how to make an iso, vob and ifo files with DVDShrink.

Please forgive me if there are other threads/guides already out, just point me in the right direction. Everyone I see here wants to do the exact opposite I am trying to do! Plus there is soooo much info floating around I don't know what to take in. (I'm new to converting/encoding/burning)

Last edited: Feb 21, 2007
  2. celtic_d

celtic_d Regular member

I'd suggest using something else to rip. Try RipIt4Me.

3. 8chaos

8chaos Regular member

How does that program work?

Does Ripit4ME convert IFO files, or can that program directly take a DVD and convert it to a AVI, MPEG or other media format?

4. celtic_d

celtic_d Regular member

All it does is rip. Doesn't do any encoding. You still need AutoGK.

5. 8chaos

8chaos Regular member

What am I doing wrong with the audio side of it? I just did it again following an AutoGK guide, but it has no sound. Should I do something different?

Last edited: Feb 22, 2007
  6. Rikoshay

Rikoshay Regular member

Do you have the proper audio decoder for the file? All it really might be is that you don't have an audio file while creating it. Try finding out the audio streams codec name and find a decoder for it. If all else fails, go to ffdshow :D

7. 8chaos

8chaos Regular member