1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Encoding to Mpg

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by Nanaki, Feb 23, 2005.

1. Nanaki

Nanaki Member

hi ppl, im quite new to this stuff so don't laugh if i have no idea what im talking about. just recently i got dvd burner since my last one go mangled pretty bad after like 2 weeks. while i had my last dvd burner i havn't had the chance to burn some of my media to blanks, so here i am trying to figure out the best way to do it. i have some 170-180mb Avi's i want to burn to a dvd disk. i read some tutorials of this site and found out TMPGenc is rather good for encoding those AVI's to MPG, anyways i did try it and liked it alot but the thing is i don't know much about encoding and when i encode these avi files they turn out to like 2GB's when they MPG so i was wondering if there was a way to make it around 600-700Mb per file without making the quality lag balls. so can some1 help me out?

2. Rotary

Rotary Senior member

hi

thats life i'm afraid avi grow bigger, you may be able to play arounf abit but only for a few meg and nothing close to what you want at 700meg

3. bbmayo

bbmayo Active member

Nero Vision Express will shrink them down for you. :)

4. Rotary

Rotary Senior member

hi

BBmayo will it shrink it to about 700meg and still be good to go? i'm not ofay with nero....

5. Nanaki

Nanaki Member

no. i know its possible because i did it once somehow by fluke. i encoded a FMA episode which was a 175 MB AVI and now it's a 759 MB MPG.

[​IMG]

6. bbmayo

bbmayo Active member

Rotary,