1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

error cannot read file E:

Discussion in 'Convert DVD to another format' started by rsobba, Jan 13, 2004.

  1. rsobba

    rsobba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Why does it say this on some of my movies that i burn and on others it lets me burn them
     
  2. vurbal

    vurbal Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2002
    Messages:
    3,102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Could you provide a little information?

    What program gives you the error message?

    How do you rip the DVD to your hard drive?

    Is your E: drive your DVD burner? Is it a different drive? Do you have an E: drive at all?
     
  3. rsobba

    rsobba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    sorry i didn't know for sure what to say
    i am using dvd shrink 103 and when i go to analyse the dvd it goes until about 49 to 59 percent then the error comes on and says Cyclique redundancy error and something about cannot read disk E:
    I do have a dvd burner because i can burn most dvds without a problem and here recently i have been having problems
     
  4. rsobba

    rsobba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    is there anyone who can help me
    I have tried everything that i know of
     
  5. vurbal

    vurbal Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2002
    Messages:
    3,102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    If you're using 1.03 you should upgrade to a newer version. You can get version 3.2.1 from Afterdawn's software page. If it still won't rip for you, try using DVD Decryptor to rip and then open the DVD files in DVD Shrink.
     
  6. rsobba

    rsobba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ok thank you i will try to use that
     
  7. rsobba

    rsobba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ok i used dvd decrypter and it says media region is mismatched to logical unit region what does that mean
     
  8. rsobba

    rsobba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    when i used dvd decrypter about 44% done it says pack header not found help!!!!!
     
  9. vurbal

    vurbal Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2002
    Messages:
    3,102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    It sounds like either drive problems or problems with the actual disks. Have you tried playing the problem disks with a software DVD player to see what happens?
     
  10. rsobba

    rsobba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    like what kind of player?
     
  11. rsobba

    rsobba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    sorry i was being crazy i'm using interactual right now
     
  12. vurbal

    vurbal Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2002
    Messages:
    3,102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    There have been posts in the past that suggest Interactual Player causes problems with DVD backups. If you had that installed when you started having problems it might be causing them. In any case, I recommend getting Power DVD or WinDVD and uninstalling Interactual. If it's the only software DVD player you have you could still use it to test the disk, but get rid of it after that.
     
  13. rsobba

    rsobba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ok one of the movies worked in the player the other did not do you think it is because of the region if so do you know how to fix that
     
  14. vurbal

    vurbal Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2002
    Messages:
    3,102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    If there's a region issue you should get an error that says so and also get asked if you want to change the region code for your drive. If the problems happen with a lot of discs, especially if the discs seem fine, I'd be suspicious of the drive. What brand of burner is it and have you checked to see if there are any firmware upgrades? A firmware upgrade shouldn't be necessary to play the discs, but if there is one it can't (probably ;) )hurt to try it.

    If you plan on playing discs from different regions you should be able to make it region free. There are region free firmwares available for some burners, and there is a piece of commercial software (I think it's called DVD Region Free) that should do it. I don't know of any free software for this.
     
  15. rsobba

    rsobba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thank you for your help it was only two movies so i gave up on trying to fix it but i will look for that software
     
  16. vurbal

    vurbal Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2002
    Messages:
    3,102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    You should also check out DVD Genie on the Afterdawn software page. It looks like it will let you play DVDs from multiple regions without changing the region of the drive.
     

Share This Page