1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Error using Shrink

Discussion in 'DVD Shrink forum' started by JMJordan4, Mar 22, 2007.

  1. JMJordan4

    JMJordan4 Guest

    When I am backing up a movie to my hard drive using DVD Shrink I keep getting an error (//:E...any ideas?
     
  2. LOCOENG

    LOCOENG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    11,493
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    118
    That is the whole error?

    What program are you using for the rip?
     
  3. JMJordan4

    JMJordan4 Guest

    I use to have a program that did the ripping all in one. Now I am using different programs. I am new to this procedure. I have DVD Decryptor and Shrink. What else do I need?
     
  4. LOCOENG

    LOCOENG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    11,493
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    118
    You are off to a good start with DVD Decrypter and DVD Shrink, but you need a little proggy to give them a boost.

    Ripit4Me-
    http://www.ripit4me.org

    Guides:
    RipIt4Me..Quick Reference Guide
    http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/360110

    An animated tutorial how to use the Wizard with RipIt4Me
    http://forum.digital-digest.com/showthread.php?t=68097

    This will integrate with the two above programs to help them cope with newer encryptions...they haven't received support for several years by themselves.
     
  5. JMJordan4

    JMJordan4 Guest

    Thank you...as fas as burning those back-ups, what do you suggest...Nero?
     
  6. LOCOENG

    LOCOENG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    11,493
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    118
    I use Nero, but suggest Imgburn.

    Imgburn-
    http://www.imgburn.com

    Guides:

    Burning DVD Video files directly to double layer media with ImgBurn
    http://forum.imgburn.com/index.php?showtopic=1780

    Creating a single layer ISO on your hard drive using ImgBurn
    http://forum.imgburn.com/index.php?showtopic=1778

    Creating a double layer ISO on your hard drive using ImgBurn
    http://forum.imgburn.com/index.php?showtopic=1777

    ImgBurn Build Mode, An Overview
    http://forum.imgburn.com/index.php?showtopic=1779

    When going to the backup portion of DVD Shrink select ISO image and burn with decrypter...or just choose ISO image and burn manually with Imgburn. There is also a version of DVD Shrink out that links itself to Imgburn for auto burning...

    http://forum.digital-digest.com/showthread.php?t=63869
     
  7. PacMan777

    PacMan777 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    3,836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    I agree with LOCOENG except with a small twist. He's right about the ImgBurn if all you need is a burner program to burn your recordable DVDs. The original version of Shrink supports the DVD Decrypter burner ware instead of the newer ImgBurn. There is a revised version that supports ImgBurn. I suggest that so the setup is seamless. Open the source DVD in RipIt4Me, when the files open in Shrink, use Shrink as the transcoder and select Create ISO and Burn with ImgBurn as the target selection for an auto burn. It doesn't get much easier than that. Here's a guide that links to the revised version of Shrink I mentioned and is an easy "how to" for the system.
    bbmayo's RI4M guide:
    http://webpages.charter.net/bacitup/TheGuides/pacman777guide.pdf
    If you have problems with the software link, let me know.
     
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2007
  8. LOCOENG

    LOCOENG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    11,493
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    118
    I thought that is what I said. LOL
     
  9. JMJordan4

    JMJordan4 Guest

    Thanks fellas I really appreciate your help...is there a way to speed up the decryptor part or is this where I need to show patience?
     
  10. PacMan777

    PacMan777 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    3,836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    I know, I was just adding to and supporting what you had to say. LOL
    Kudos on your excellent work helping JMJordan4.

    @ JMJordan4
    Show patience. About the only way to speed it up is have a faster system with plenty of resources and then it might not help much.
     
  11. LOCOENG

    LOCOENG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    11,493
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    118
    How fast is it going? Could be that your DMA is off.
     
  12. PacMan777

    PacMan777 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    3,836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    40 to 45 minutes isn't too bad for a Shrink backup if the quality settings are in use. Even without it would take much longer in PIO.
     

Share This Page