1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Errors with new dvd drive

Discussion in 'DVD Shrink forum' started by davis25, Oct 22, 2004.

  1. davis25

    davis25 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I just bought a liteon sohw-832s burner and when i use dvd shrink it gives me a crc or unknown error everytime now. I used to have a toshiba burner and only got this error one time with it, but every disc I try to put in will not read on shrink. Im at a loss here, anyone have any ideas what might be wrong? TIA
     
  2. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Do you get the same error when you try to rip with something else like DVD Decypter?

    Does the drive do the same thing if you put it in another PC?

    Are you trying to rip originals or burned copies? Are the discs clean and scratch free?
     
  3. indueng

    indueng Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have the same problem almost. This drive keeps on giving me erros when I try to backup at 1x or 2x. It barely starts bruning. DVD decrypter, a120 same thing always. It will burn up to 32 bytes then give me an error. Finally I switch device to PIO mode. Then it works 1/3 the time at 2x. Interestingly, there are no coasters. The ones that don't work can be re-used until it works. Even though it states it wrote 32 bytes everytime it fails. How freakin weird is that. Everyone says lite-on is good, but now I know it sucks.
     
  4. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    indueng

    Lite On is a good make.

    Have you installed the latest firmware?

    What brand/type media are you using?
     
  5. Molder

    Molder Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Guys,
    I have the same Liteon drive SOHW832s, I have never made a coaster or (touch wood) never had any dramas. I use a very cheap disc, Princo -R and have backup DVDs and PS2 games. What I did have a problem with was a Liteon CD Burner, the Liteon Firmware update wouldn't go in. But my old mate Nephilim helped me out.

    Listen to what the grand old master (Neph)has to say!!

    M
     
  6. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Sheesh! You're going to make me blush :p
     
  7. indueng

    indueng Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ya i'm using the latest firmware with Vakoss media. Same result with maxell media. Maybe the gods are against me on this one. I'm running 2 hds on primary and I got this 832s on sec master with my lg 48x cd burning slave. So mr. lite-on, where is the problem?
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]PS2 V9 Remod + Infinity
    Lite-On SOHW-832S[/small]
     
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2004
  8. Molder

    Molder Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Indueng,
    I think you just told me your problem,
    the SOHW832s for some reason doesn't like sharing, try taking the other drive off the daisy chain and run the SOHW832s on it's own as the master.

    I bet that will fix your problem ;-)

    Let me know.

    M
     
  9. indueng

    indueng Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    still no go. does anyone here know what's happening here?
     
  10. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
  11. indueng

    indueng Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    already had force 1.8, still no go. i've never been so bamboozled.
     
  12. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2004
  13. indueng

    indueng Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    randomly got it working 100% in nero at 2x. Don't know how. I just had never tried nero since I started getting the problem in nero at first. Oh well, I guess this is just the right combination of things unknown.
     
  14. Molder

    Molder Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    What version of Nero are you running?

    Try the latest if it's not.

    M
     
  15. dlc2000

    dlc2000 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    do you have incd installed ? if so it has been known to cause problems and should be uninstalled .
     
  16. indueng

    indueng Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    The nero it works on is 6.0.0.0 and no i do not have incd. In fact when I started getting problems, i totally redid my system for other reasons.
     
  17. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Your version of Nero is an old one that was known to have bugs so I'd highly recommend updating to the latest version :)
     
  18. indueng

    indueng Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I'll think about it, but i'm at a point where i'm gonna have to go with the good ol': "if it ain't broke don't fix it" line.
     

Share This Page