1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ethernet Driver

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by loki21, Apr 12, 2007.

  1. loki21

    loki21 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I'm not sure if this is the right place, but here it goes. I recently had to reinstall Windows on my PC because I had a bad hard drive. Everything went well but now I cannot connect to the Internet with a CAT5 cable connected from the PC to the router. I asked our Tech person at work and she told me it was my Ethernet Driver. I looked at my Device Manager and it has a ?Ethernet Driver. What do I do? She told me I can download this but I don't know where or if it has to be specific with my PC. Thanks for any help.
     
  2. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,092
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    moved to correct forum.
    what is the make & model# of your computer or motherboard? what windows are you using?
     
  3. loki21

    loki21 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i am running windows xp professional. my desktop was built by my brother and i don't know the model# or motherboard.
     
  4. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,092
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    is the network card built into motherboard or in a slot?
     
  5. Leningrad

    Leningrad Regular member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I had this problem once with my celeron, if you bought your PC
    from future shop or any other electronic retailer, the PC comes
    with a recovery disc. Likely the disc got damaged and it could not
    copy the software drivers to your HDD. You will need to somehow manage
    to get some software drivers from the internet for your ethernet. If
    you have a intel CPU go to intel.com go to ethernet/networking and
    download your drivers.(If you are unsure what type of ethernet you have
    use INTEL chipset Identification.By the way, it's ok if it's not 100%
    the correct drivers for the ethernet (the computer will know that you
    have ethernet) just make sure its for integrated not for PCI-ethernet.

    good luck
     
  6. Leningrad

    Leningrad Regular member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    O yes assuming you have Integrated ethernet!!!
     
  7. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,092
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Leningrad, an intel cpu doesn't mean having an intel net card. i have an intel p4 celeron on an asrock board using intel chipset but with a realtek netcard. next time edit your previous post instead of posting again as that is frowned upon.
     
  8. Leningrad

    Leningrad Regular member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    To ddp

    You did not understand me, I said assuming it is integrated
    ethernet. And if Intel's chip ID can detect integrated sound/graphics
    on the mobo why not networking ports??
     
  9. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,092
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    my netcard is intergrated but uses realtek chipset for netcard whereas board uses intel chipset. i was commenting about you 2nd post that was 2 minutes later posted after previous post, edit previous post next time.
     

Share This Page