1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Everything Plays as a Music File

Discussion in 'MPEG-1 and MPEG-2 encoding (AVI to DVD)' started by XJeepguy, Jan 14, 2008.

  1. XJeepguy

    XJeepguy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hello All

    I recently built a new computer here . I have all the codecs installed from the old computer on the new one now . Trouble I am having is all my avi video files are playing as music in MS Media Player . Firmware on dvd burner is all up to date , Mobo drivers etc.. all current . As I have not been able to make a DVD yet ( one that works) from an avi like I used to . I have all the programs off the old computer installed , I always used to use Super DVD Creator to do the one step conversion , burn and it runs thru the process fine , no errors but the end result is it doesnt play in anything after . It just says disc error on the home dvd player as well . I know its something to do with the way my computer is playing these files as music but just cannot figure whats causing this . Oh ya , when opening a avi in Media Player it does say codec aquired successfully and then plays the movie as audio.

    Thanks for any advice , help . My pile of dvd's in the garbage is starting to frustrate me . Im using the same media type as I used to .

    XJ
     
  2. cyprusrom

    cyprusrom Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Download GSpot. Open your AVI with GSpot, will tell you if you have all the codecs installed. It seems that you are missing some video codecs. I would download the lates version of FFDshow.

    As for playback issues... what kind of discs are you using to burn?

    I have never used Super DVD Creator, however, DVD Flick is free and does a pretty good job ;the beta version will also allow you to crate menus:

    http://beginwithsoftware.com/videoguides/dvd-flick-guide.html
     
  3. XJeepguy

    XJeepguy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Seem to have the codec issue resolved . Dont know why but Media Player refused to see that codec . Its working now BUT Im still not able to convert and burn a dvd . I will try flick , but its a mystery as to why the other 2 programs dont work now .

    Let ya know how flick goes .

    Thanks
     
  4. cyprusrom

    cyprusrom Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    How did you solved the codec issue?
     
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2008
  5. XJeepguy

    XJeepguy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Oh , I have tried 3 different media brands , Sony , Verbatim and Memorex . Which of course all worked fine on the old computer . Somethings just not right here . I can burn the avi file as data and the home dvd player plays it fine . Somehow the conversion process or the way ALL the programs I'm trying are putting it on the dvd , somethings going wrong .

    XJ
     
  6. XJeepguy

    XJeepguy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    The codec ? I downloaded the first one from a 3rd party , this morning I got it right off the link from Media Player . Ok now , took your advice and tried Flick and it worked fine . Converted a avi to dvd , no problem, it plays fine in everything . I'm happy that things are working but baffled as to why the other programs I tried ( and have used happily over the last 2 or 3 years ) are not working . Thank you so much for the tips . Its a great forum .

    XJ
     
  7. cyprusrom

    cyprusrom Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Why the other program is not working? I don't know...Do you really want to find out, you can keep on digging:~)!
    The Flick is free, supports removable subs and lets you create menus. Outputs great quality. If you want to fix the other proggie, good luck. Maybe is missing some codecs, I don't know,maybe with the new downloaded codec it would work, but you are fixed for now, so cheers!
     
  8. Amir89

    Amir89 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    XJeepguy:

    Sounds like your video renderers are messed up. If I were you I would uninstall any individual codecs/codec packs you have, clean your registry and then download K-Lite Codec Pack from here: www.free-codecs.com/download/K_Lite_Codec_Pack.htm

    Install it, it will replace all your previous codecs with much more customizable ones and in conjunction with Media Player Classic (included) will allow to play 98% of video formats out there.
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2008

Share This Page