1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Exact Audio Copy HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Discussion in 'Audio' started by weazel200, Mar 1, 2005.

  1. weazel200

    weazel200 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,299
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    OK I need to know something. In the top left corner of the program is a tab "EAC" when I click on that it gives me several options. I click on the compression settings (F11) and it has 4 different sections.On the external compression tab is a box with the text on the left "Parameter passing scheme". In that box it has a long list of different command-line encoders. DO I stick to the default option which is "User Defined Encoder" or do I choose "LAME MP3 Encoder". Also, what bit rate should I choose. Will 320kbs be the best quality. Help appreciated.
     
  2. djscoop

    djscoop Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Messages:
    4,070
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    yes, select "LAME Mp3 Encoder". make sure the "use external compression" box is checked, and make sure that EAC is pointed to the right location for lame.exe in the box below that. the bitrate on this screen doesn't really matter. click on the LAME DLL tab. select "stereo" for output, "high quality" for quality, and maximum bitrate of 320, even though it will never go that high, cause VBR doesn't need to. Click the "use VBR quality" button, and whatever number you select will depend on how much of how little compression is used. Try 5 (normal) and see if you like the results.
     
  3. Jeanc1

    Jeanc1 Guest

    Post withdrawn (( Was typing same time as DjScoop )) --- !
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 1, 2005
  4. weazel200

    weazel200 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,299
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    OK I have 3 more queries. 1) What bit rate do I choose out of the selection. I want 320kbs is that CBR or VBR or is the best 192kbs (VBR). 2) Where is the LAME DLL Tab where I am supposed to select stereo. 3) In the additional command line options box it displays this text "%l--alt-preset 128%l%h--alt-preset standard%h %s %d" is this right. Please respond A.S.A.P.
     
  5. djscoop

    djscoop Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Messages:
    4,070
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    I beleive if you have the lame encoder installed correctly, a LAME DLL tab should appear on the right next to the id3 tag one. if not, make sure you have eac pointed to the correct path for the lame.exe file in the box under external compression.

    the additional commands line is for more features, I think. mine just says "--alt-preset standard"

    you specify the bitrate below that, mine is 192, and in the lame dll tab you can expand on that, telling it to go as high as 320 if need be, and what VBR option to use.
     
  6. weazel200

    weazel200 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,299
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Sometimes when a certain track has ripped the program makes this noise which I don't know how to turn off. It must be internal as I have muted my speakers. It sounds like 2 beeps. Also, why does the command line appear sometimes.
     
  7. djscoop

    djscoop Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Messages:
    4,070
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    EAC > EAC Options > General Tab. Uncheck the box that says "beep after extraction finished."

    The command prompt box that pops up is the external lame encoder.
     

Share This Page