1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Explorer Crashes

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by DJ_Yuz, Dec 10, 2004.

1. DJ_Yuz

DJ_Yuz Member

While browsing sites today, IE suddenly crashed for no reason. When I try to open Explorer or IE, it will automatically crash--no error message, no warning, just instantaneous crashing. This has happened to me before, I removed it just about a month ago by reformatting, which was a pain.

I've searched for help on this and read many "solutions"--but most are centered around Explorer crashing when you view certain folders, avis, jpgs, etc. Mine just crashes when you open ANYTHING. Can anyone help me diagnose what the problem might be?

2. Divinus

Divinus Guest

Hmm, not really sure there DJ. Sounds like something maybe got corrupted. Although, I'm no expert so don't take my advice religiously. I'd say if you are content with keeping IE, go to microsoft's site and make sure you have the latest update for IE.

Albeit, if you don't need IE in paticular, go get firefox. MUCH better browser in my opinion. Neat pop up blocker built in, tabbed pages. Really cool.

Sorry if I was no help, but if you really don't need IE for some specific reason (online classes, etc.), I'd recommend switching to firefox.

Last edited by a moderator: Dec 10, 2004
  3. DJ_Yuz

DJ_Yuz Member

My problem isnt strictly IE; a friend actually sent me Opera so that's what I'm using to post right now. My main problem lies in the fact that when I open any folder, it crashes. This makes it extremely difficult to navigate, as I need to access any files I need through the "run" prompt.

4. Divinus

Divinus Guest

Ohhhh I'm sorry, I completely misread your post. I didn't see the part about explorer also crashing.