1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

explorer problem

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by malcdogg, Feb 17, 2005.

  1. malcdogg

    malcdogg Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Ever since yesterday, out of nowhere off and on my entire desktop just seems to dissapear in the middle of what im doing. Heres an example, i can have my browser window open, and then out of nowhere i'll look down and my taskbar will be gone. then when i shut the browser, all thats on my desktop is the grey background color. At that point only 2 things fix it. Either i log off then log back on. Or i choose open explorer.exe from my taskmanager. Does anyone have any idea what the heck is going on?

    OK i THINK i've got a solution: By default, if your shell (Explorer.exe) crashes it will automatically restart. But if your shell crashes (icons/Taskbar disappear) and you must logoff/logon to restore them, edit the following Registry entry:
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion \Winlogon
    Look at AutoRestartShell (a REG_DWORD) in the right hand pane.

    If it is 0 (do not restart), set it to 1(automatically restart).

    I'm still curious as to WHy it would be crashing though....
     
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2005
  2. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,071
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    128
    check for viruses & spyware
     
  3. malcdogg

    malcdogg Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I've checked, then double checked, then checked again.
     
  4. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,071
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    128
    what did you use??
     
  5. malcdogg

    malcdogg Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Avast, Pandas online scan, Then switched to Norton to see if Avast missed something, Spybot, Adaware, Spyware doctor. I've went through all my running processes to see if there was something there, nothing. I'm at a bit of a loss. :(
     

Share This Page