1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

extended encoding/burning times

Discussion in 'DVD Shrink forum' started by honeyboy, Nov 25, 2004.

1. honeyboy

honeyboy Member

Hi,
    I am new to dvd shrink. I used dvd x copy for years with great success. It used to take an hour, maybe 1.5 hours at the most to burn a movie. I used dvd shrink for the first time and it took 5.5 hours!!! I went to work in the am, came home for lunch and the dvd reader drive was still hammering away! It can't be good for the drive to work for hours at a time.

Am I doing something wrong? The disk did turn out fine but 5.5 hours in unacceptable.

I have a new Dell media center edition pc 3.o mhz processor and 1 gig ram. This thing should smoke!

Any suggustions?

Thanks

Hb

2. Manobeer

Manobeer Member

If you are doing some heavy compresion it will slow it down.

But not that much, I have a slower pc than yours and it annoys me when all of a sudden it started taking about 45 mins to rip a movie. It used to rip them in about 15-20.

I read a thread here where they advised to remove the drive(just in system manager) and restart the pc to let windows reinstall it. I actually uninstalled both drives on my secondary ide and the secondary IDE itself. Bamm started ripping like it used to.

I usually do movie only with little or NO compresion.

3. ScubaPete

ScubaPete Senior member

Hi there honeyboy, welcome to aD,

XCopy can't do a Deep analysis or a quality enhancement as you are doing therefore the difference in time. 5.5 hours would probably be to the fact that you're running your drives in a PIO mode rather than the DMA mode. That will bring your time down to a bit over 2 hours for a really good backup, far better than XCopy could ever provide).

There may be other factors but the 2 I mentioned are most likely the problem. -

Let's check your drives transfer mode, Okie, Dokie ?