1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

external hard drive and swap magic 3.3

Discussion in 'PS2 - Software boot discussion' started by pito553, Jun 21, 2007.

  1. pito553

    pito553 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i would please like to know how to play games that are on a hard drive using swap magic 3.6 and if you could also give me a link to download an iso[or anything else that works] of swap magic 3.6



    thanx in advance
     
  2. Z3120

    Z3120 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    What exactly is it you are trying to do? Boot up Swap Magic 3.6 using Swap Magic 3.6? IF you have no method of playing backups or imports like Swap Magic or a mod-chip, you need either one before you can consider installing an HDD on your PS2. If you have a slim PS2, you need USB Extreme to use a USB HDD unless you install an HD combo on your slim PS2 where you can hook up an IDE HDD instead of using an USB. IF you are trying to hook up an IDE HDD to a fat PS2, you need a network adapter before you can properly install an IDE HDD to your PS2. Here for a little tutorial. Most known ones that are considered to work are Seagate, Maxtor and Western Digital.

    You can also use Gameshark 2 or ARMAx/Action Replay to do an MC Exploit and load HDL onto your memory card with using Swap Magic. If you have a mod-chip, I believe if it has a DEV1 mode, you can install HDL into its memory bank although I'm not quite sure on that part.

    If you are new on how to play backups and imports, then I'll say this. You can't simply download Swap Magic for use because it's completely useless on its own unless you have another method of booting that Swap Magic ISO using Swap Magic or the previous cheat devices I've mentioned.

    Here if you simply want the SM 3.6 ISO and know how to boot it.

    Edit: Here for an HDD compatibility list.
     
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2007
  3. pito553

    pito553 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i wanted to launch swap magic 3.6[pirated] from version 3.3[original] but i did an exploit and i got usb advance on the memory card and am currently formatting my external 320 gb seagate drive to see if i can put games on it so i can use it with my ps2[the fat one]
     
  4. OmriSama

    OmriSama Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    You have a fat ps2!? then you definately don't want a USB HDD
     
  5. pito553

    pito553 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    yes i do have the fat ps2, why wont i want the usb hdd??? i have already tried it with 007: nightfire, GTA: San Andreas, and both of them work fine, the only thing is that on the 007 the movies are a bit slow thats the only flaw ive seen upto now ;)
     
  6. OmriSama

    OmriSama Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    USB HDDs have terrible game compatibillity. Only 5% of all PS2 games work with USB HDDs.
     
  7. Z3120

    Z3120 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    USB Extreme has become absolute obsolete in favor of HDL and Toxic OS from the looks of things. You're better off switching to an internal IDE HDD for better performance and a much better game compatibility list than what you get in USB Extreme.

    And I see. You weren't clear at first and I thought you were trying to boot a backup Swap Magic edition without any modification of the sorts in getting it to work.
     
  8. pito553

    pito553 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    where can i download hd loader[or is hd advance better???] can you plz give me a link??

    and also you know the page you gave me for downloading swap magic 3.6??? where can i find it???

    thanx in advance :)
     
  9. OmriSama

    OmriSama Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    WWW.SKSAPPS.COM

    Just remember, you need an IDE HDD, and an official sony network adapter for fat PS2 to connect the HDD.
     
  10. pito553

    pito553 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    does hd advance support usb hdd??

    if not does hd loader do??

    do u need a mdchip for toxic os???if not, can u tell me where i can find a tutorial??




    thnx in advance
     
  11. Z3120

    Z3120 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    HDL is for IDE HDDs, USB Extreme (and whatever else it goes by) are for USB HDDs and Toxic OS is an exclusive better form of HDL exclusive for a particular set of mod-chips. Was it the DMS4? I forgot.

    Tutorial for what? IDE HDD or USB HDD?
     
  12. pito553

    pito553 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    it says something bout hes moving......ok, heres the deal i got a 320 gb freeagent desktop drive about a month ago[especially for my ps2] but i hadnt had time to try it out now , what is the program that yoiu recommend for using my usb hdd?
     
  13. Z3120

    Z3120 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Check here for a list of IDE HDD and perhaps USB HDDs and see if it might work. You're better off looking here for a guide/tutorial on how to get a USB HDD to work.
     
  14. RickyMan

    RickyMan Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    im having problems i did every thing rite and when i start up the ps2 it frezes and i have to unplug it!!!!help!!!!
     

Share This Page