1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

External Hard Drives

Discussion in 'PS2 - Software boot discussion' started by YuushaFan, Jul 1, 2007.

  1. YuushaFan

    YuushaFan Guest

    Is it possible to use an external USB hard drive to boot up games? I'm asking because I bought one over the internet recently, and I want to know if I can do so before it arrives.
     
  2. OmriSama

    OmriSama Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Yes you can. But you need a program called USBAdvance.
     
  3. YuushaFan

    YuushaFan Guest

    Well, that's just perfect. I really wanna play SRW Alpha 2 and 3, but according to compatability lists, they aren't functional with USBAdvance. Or am I missing something here?
     
  4. OmriSama

    OmriSama Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    USB Advance compatibillity sucks. It's compatible with only 5 percent of all PS2 games. Get a normal IDE HDD and HDLoader.
     
  5. YuushaFan

    YuushaFan Guest

    Is there any way to improve upon USBAdvance compatability? I don't have the cash to get HD Loader, plus I have a slim PS2.
     
  6. OmriSama

    OmriSama Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    No. USBAdvance sucks and there's nothing to do about it. And you don't have to buy HDLoader you can just download it but you need an exploit to load it up.

    And you have slim ps2 huh? well, normal you wouldn't be able to install an hdd on a slim ps2. But you actually can!

    First, what is you PS2 version? (MOD-CHIP.COM go to tutorials on the side and click the PS2 icon then click the icon that says find your PS2 version.
     
  7. YuushaFan

    YuushaFan Guest

    I'm sorry, but my roomie doesn't want me to do any modification on the PS2 since we both use it. The only other option I can think of is to get another PS2 as a backup. That way, we can still have one if I mess up modding the first one.
     
  8. OmriSama

    OmriSama Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    You don't have to install it.

    www.teammodders.com

    They are modchip installers. They install modchips for Xbox 360s, Wiis, PS2s, Xboxes and GameCubes. They also repair consoles and sell premodded consoles.

    I got my PS2 modded there. They have an excellent service A+.
     
  9. YuushaFan

    YuushaFan Guest

    You don't understand. He won't let me do it. PERIOD. That's why I said that I'd need to buy a backup.
     
  10. YunaFire

    YunaFire Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I recently acquired some money from graduation and birthday. (Yay me!) I was thinking I would be interested in buying an HD, try out the 'HDLoader' method. So, a few questions...

    1) If the hd is used for loading up games, can it still be used for data storage as well? (I currently only have $100, and if an 80gb hd costs around $60 or whatever, I'd love to get out as much use of it as I can)

    2) What are the best drives to get, compatibility and performance wise?
     
  11. OmriSama

    OmriSama Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    1) No you cannot save data directly from your game. However, you can backup data on to it.

    2) Maxtor and Seagate are usually the best. I have a Maxtor 160 GB HDD and im lovin' it.
     
  12. YunaFire

    YunaFire Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks for the response! :)

    By 'saving data', I meant general data storage from the PC - like backing up videos or pics or whatever. Just to use the HD to the fullest. My laptop only has 30gb hd, so if ever I need to crash, it'd be good to use the external hd for backing stuff up, know what I mean?

    Thanks, I'll look into those.

    Alright, so this HD method for back up games. How does it work? As mentioned, I currently use SwapMagic 3.8, so all fifteen of my games are on dvds. I'd like to transfer those to the HD to play.
     

Share This Page