1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Extra Space...Help

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by satb7783, Jan 27, 2005.

  1. satb7783

    satb7783 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I just bought an external enclosure and a 120 GB hard drive for some extra space for movies and what not, b/c I have a laptop, so I don't have that much space to begin with...but before I insatll this hard drive into the case, I was wondering what the external drive should be....master or slave? I will only be turning it on when I am wanting to use Ghost and backup my system or backup a movie and save it on there. Isn't the HDD in the laptop the master, and then this one would be the slave...or no? Any help would be great on what I should do about hooking this up...I have never done this before. Thanks!
     
  2. Gringle

    Gringle Guest

    I believe you've answered your own question correctly.

    regards gringle
     
  3. Gringle

    Gringle Guest

    Sorry [re] the advice, it differs from makes of, HD to HD lots of info in google.

    regards again gringle
     
  4. ScubaBud

    ScubaBud Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Since this will be connected by USB, you would need to make the settings on the HD to Master.
     
  5. Gringle

    Gringle Guest

    Sorry Scuba bubd; I thought by chance, and by an inate percerption. That part of bubbles floating...had been understood?

    So'oo while I miander among bubbles floating to the sky;

    I gotta think 'bout a sort of imatation; a sort of non-risk disc?

    regards gringle.
     
  6. ScubaBud

    ScubaBud Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    @ gringle

    I'm a bit lost. Are you saying that:

    is the same as:

    Thanks

    Just in case, @satb7783, Select "Master" as the setting for the "External Hard Drive" you will be using in your enclosure.
     
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2005
  7. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Wrong forum. Thread moved.
     
  8. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,014
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    128
    external hd is seen as slave, i have a 40gig wd in 2.5" usb2 enclosure & is my f:drive unless i reboot with drive plugged in than is d:drive. on some bioses can boot off external drives so see if you have that capability
     
  9. ScubaBud

    ScubaBud Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    That is correct ddp. It will be seen as an additional drive once plugged into a USB port since the master HDD is internal. But the actual setting on the back of the hard drive installed into the enclosure should be set as “master”.

    Here is a link from a gentleman that setup his own external HDD and some of the problems he encountered:

    http://www.camerahobby.com/Digital_HardDriveCase.htm


    Thanks
     
  10. satb7783

    satb7783 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    When I do install this drive, antyhing I need to do to it, or just start saving things to it? In the last post, it mentioned something about "formatting" the drive...how am I suppose to do that? Just a scandisk and defrag, or...? I am confused on what "formatting the drive" really means. Also...I don't need to artition this drive right, b/c I will be only using it to save music, pictures, backup dvd's and what not...right?
     
  11. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,014
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    128
    ScubaBud, 3.5" ide may have to be jumpered but not 2.5" ide fot laptops which my drive is.
    satb7783, you have to partition & format drive before able to store software onto drive. if using xp, goto disk management to create partition on drive than format it
     
  12. satb7783

    satb7783 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I feel kind of stupid, but I have no idea how to do any of this. I am in disk management, then what do you do to partition and format? I still have to do this even if I am only putting songs and single type files on it, not software of any kind.

    Thanks for the help
     
  13. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,014
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    128
  14. satb7783

    satb7783 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks for the link, that helped
     
  15. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,014
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    128
    no problem, teach & learn
     

Share This Page