1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Extra Space...Help

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by satb7783, Jan 27, 2005.

1. satb7783

satb7783 Member

I just bought an external enclosure and a 120 GB hard drive for some extra space for movies and what not, b/c I have a laptop, so I don't have that much space to begin with...but before I insatll this hard drive into the case, I was wondering what the external drive should be....master or slave? I will only be turning it on when I am wanting to use Ghost and backup my system or backup a movie and save it on there. Isn't the HDD in the laptop the master, and then this one would be the slave...or no? Any help would be great on what I should do about hooking this up...I have never done this before. Thanks!

2. Gringle

Gringle Guest

I believe you've answered your own question correctly.

regards gringle

3. Gringle

Gringle Guest

Sorry [re] the advice, it differs from makes of, HD to HD lots of info in google.

regards again gringle

4. ScubaBud

ScubaBud Regular member

Since this will be connected by USB, you would need to make the settings on the HD to Master.

5. Gringle

Gringle Guest

Sorry Scuba bubd; I thought by chance, and by an inate percerption. That part of bubbles floating...had been understood?

So'oo while I miander among bubbles floating to the sky;

I gotta think 'bout a sort of imatation; a sort of non-risk disc?

regards gringle.

6. ScubaBud

ScubaBud Regular member

@ gringle

I'm a bit lost. Are you saying that:

is the same as:

Thanks

Just in case, @satb7783, Select "Master" as the setting for the "External Hard Drive" you will be using in your enclosure.

Last edited: Jan 28, 2005
  7. Nephilim

Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

Wrong forum. Thread moved.

8. ddp

ddp Moderator Staff Member