1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

failed downloads in kazaa

Discussion in 'Video - Software discussion' started by Kimmydean, Jul 28, 2003.

  1. Kimmydean

    Kimmydean Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I read someone else's post about failed downloads in kazaa. They were having the exact problem as me, every song they tried to download came up as "failed" it said in the help section that my disk space is probably full, so i erased probably half hte songs i had and checked and i have plenty of disk space left. That persons solution was that they didn't have a firewall turned on, once they turned it on it worked. So I tried that but I don't know alot about firewalls under the firewall section and the only thing that was on, was under then incoming ports (I really don't know what that means) I tried to turn on the socks5 proxy server, but i don't know the host or port, there was a host name and a portin there already but now it says its wrong. So how do i find out my host, and port? or what other possible solutions would there be to my kazaa problem if that isn't it?
     
  2. Oriphus

    Oriphus Senior member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    6,011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Check the port you are connecting on. Also, some ISP's can block certain ports and prevent Kazaa downloads.
     
  3. Kimmydean

    Kimmydean Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    How do I check the port I am connecting on and once I do, what do I do with that? How can i check the ISP's and if that is the problem how do I make them not block downloads?
     
  4. Dela

    Dela Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8,949
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Completely remove kazaa and install kazaa lite http://www.k-lite.tk

    There are a few reasons for this, blocked ports is not one because it couldnt connect without port 1214, capped ports is possible but then u might get connected and have searching all the time!

    It is usually a corrupted installation or you dont have full access rights on the machine you are using!
     
  5. Kimmydean

    Kimmydean Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I downloaded Kazaa lite, it is doing the same thing. I can search for anything, but whenever I try to download it, that is when the "failed" comes up. Except there is one exception, I can download the ones with the gold tabs, other than that nothing. so I don't know if that will help at all but I am really hoping someone has other ideas, because I tried about 3 other music sharing softwares, and none of them were any good! I just want to fix this one!
     
  6. Kimmydean

    Kimmydean Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    and just incase this will help, when it started having problems, it just came out of nowhere, on a version of kazaa that i had used for months, so I don't think it was a corrupted installation, and also I am the administrator on my computer so I don't htink that is it either, especially considering it was working fine at one point!
     
  7. Dela

    Dela Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8,949
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    You running a firewall?
     
  8. Kimmydean

    Kimmydean Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    no i checked that too, I wasn't. I turned it on just to see if it would help, but it didn't so I put it back how it was.
     
  9. Dela

    Dela Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8,949
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Right ok, how about a router?? proxy server?? anything??
     
  10. Kimmydean

    Kimmydean Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I don't know, how do I check that?
     
  11. akid

    akid Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I've had the same recent problem and I'm starting to wonder if it's thanks to the music industries crackdown on people who file share. The RIAA is sueing people in the US, but if you live in cananda then you're exempt from them. I'm think that because I was activated as a supernode and share music files that they've banned my IP or something, cause my other IP address on my other computer works fine. I hardly have any mp3's as it is! I can't understand why my downloads fail unless this is the case. Help
     
  12. Dela

    Dela Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8,949
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    What you mean banned your ip?
     

Share This Page